The awfully big adventure has started


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
September 29th 2005
Published: September 29th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Just a quick entry to get going....
Well it seems like an awfully big adventure to me!

I'm in Adelaide, cooling off after 3 days in Singapore. And trying to get over jet lag before I run around Kangaroo Island for two weeks helping in the study of echidnas and goannas there. I guess the scientists won't be too happy if I don't wake up until mid morning!
Tomorrow I am off wine tasting in the Barossa Valley - trying one of the organised tours for the first time. Although people I met in Singapore were quite negative about Adelaide, I've enjoyed it here - it's been good as the city is quite small so I've walked everywhere. Today I've done some of the museums / cultural centres - the Aborigine one, Immigration museum and the South Australia museum. Quite shocking the history of the place, very though provoking.
Haven't worked out the photos thing for the blog yet - or taken v many to be honest. Kangaroo Island will change that I am sure.
Highlights of Singapore for me were the zoos (day and night - the night one especially), Raffles (tiffin was v good) and great Indian vegetarian food.
Anyway, will update this from the solar powered Email at the research centre next week.
I haven't got everyone onto my subscribe list for this yet - so if one of you chosen few (Mum, Dad, Lisa or Sally) could tell me that the alert has worked, I will carry on copying people across next time I have time and inclination. Yet another of those things that I thought I'd do before I left and didn't, but doesn't seem to matter too much at the moment. Actually just had an idea - oops - could add myself to it couldn't I! My problem solving skills are a little slow at the moment.
P.S. A big thank you to everyone who helped me throught the last few weeks before I came away - you know who you are!

Advertisement



21st November 2005

wow!
so you made it dude! can't wait to hear about kangaroo island - sounds awesome! I hope you are having a really good time - we are thinking about you a great deal and looking forawrd to hearing more about what you are getting up to. Now I have managed to get this far and check out this site I will now come in and see what you are about every week. Take Care and God Bless xxxxx

Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb