City plans


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
April 17th 2007
Published: April 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Adelaide is probably the best example the grid style city. I've noticed it in a few cities before, like Christchurch and Melbourne, but in Adelaide it's even more evident. The perfect rectangular of the central city is criss-crossed with a symmetric grid of streets and carefully placed squares, while all streets start in the central avenue. The center city is completely surrounded by parks that separate it from the suburbs, with roads going out through the parks in the nine symmetric directions. The suburbs themselves are smaller separate grids. The whole city is painfully planned.
My immediate thought was that I'm witnessing here very new cities, much newer than those I know in Europe, and that's the reason they are so planned. And then I remembered that my own home city is much newer than those, and nothing is really planned in Tel-Aviv. I guess it's a combination of a flat country and 19th century ideas.
And then i realized that while it's very easy and neat to travel in those cities, I do miss Tel-Aviv.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 72; dbt: 0.1105s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb