Made it to Adelaide!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
June 13th 2005
Published: January 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Room with a view.Room with a view.Room with a view.

Taken at the ruins.
Intense red sunrise.
Hawker, Quorn & Adelaide.
Bye to the Flinders.

Another nice sleep in since it was another 8AM departure. Gotta love a good lie-in! Once on the road we did more emu spotting.

Our morning stop was at the Klinyara Ruins which is a former settlement from "back in the day." To be honest I wasn't really listening to what Tanya was telling us about this sight...

Since we will be arriving in Adelaide tonight and this is our last lunch together we all had left overs for lunch. I opted not to have a sandwich and helped myself to the salads instead.

Driving (or in my case, sitting on the bus!) was a pretty easy day today. The group actually seemed pretty subdued. Guess when the two Canadians aren't talking the bus gets pretty quiet. lol And seeing as Mandy wasn't feeling the greatest and I didn't really feel like talking to myself it was a quiet bus journey. 😊

We did play a bit of Pictionary in the afternoon to pass the time but other than that it seemed like most people were just interested in snoozing.

We arrived in Adelaide and we were greeting by big gusts of wind. Let me tell you that wearing polar fleece when it is windy is not the best thing to be wearing to keep warm because it feels like the wind blows right through you! Thank goodness I have my water resistant jacket with me and it helped a bit in blocking the wind. We said farewell to Tomoko who is staying at a hostel outside of the Centre and also to Sam who is staying with some relatives.

Once I settled into the YHA, which by the way is perhaps one of the nicest hostels I've stayed in while in Australia, I made a quick call to Sarah in Perth. It was really nice to hear a familiar voice! I can't believe that I'll be in Perth in a week's time! I unfortunately had to cut the conversation a little short since we were all meeting at 7PM at a Backpackers Bar for dinner and drinks. It was a free dinner (didn't know it was included!) so I couldn't say no to that. I chose the nachos over the beef stroganoff and was so glad I did because the nachos were just divine. Who knew my love for sour cream and lots of cheese was so great? lol

At the bar there was a video jukebox that contained a lot of 80's music. Di and I were busting a gut talking about MC Hammer. Then Anna says she's not sure who MC Hammer is so of course we had to plug in a gold coin and play some MC Hammer for her...”Can't touch this!” It was hilarious. I don't need to say this but we busted a gut watching the video. Let's just say tears were flowing because we were laughing so hard!

Tomorrow's agenda includes a walking tour of Adelaide with my dorm mate Laura. Let's just hope the weather is dry and not too windy.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.239s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.2021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb