Day 8


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland
December 7th 2015
Published: December 7th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Day 8
Things I forgot from 6&7
6) I was asked twice by different ladies if I was a teacher.... Presumably cos I am bossy :-/ perhaps Shirley was right I should have been one!
7) ladies!! we went to the daintree rainforest ice cream place where I found the newest and best thing in chocolate !!! The black sapote it IS a fruit that tastes like chocolate!! (I had the black sapote ice cream (36% less fat that normal ice cream!) Win win! I need to find a way to get it to the uk and make millions (no pinching my idea!!)
We also overheard a convo about bouncing stones... A local girl about my age (not aboriginal) was telling other travellers about these bouncing stones and how the White people were over abusing them, breaking and stealing them so you now can't go see them, they have been protected as part of the aboriginal help scheme the government now has! She said she's always lived here and been a couple of times but they're kind of hidden and hard to find even for locals now! Upon googling this is all I could find via Wikipedia, I think as they're protected now....
"The Bouncing Stones site or beach is in the Daintree National Park in the far north of Queensland, Australia. The site is sacred to the Kuku Yalanji Aboriginals of the area and was an area where the women of the tribe discussed their secret women's business. The site takes its name because stones can be bounced off one another in a similar fashion to bouncing balls. People are now not allowed on the beach because of superstitious beliefs.

So on to today!
I woke at 5 *sighs* tried to get back to sleep but animals too noisy! Hubs woke about 6:30 we lazed about a little then did some packing, tried in vain to return mums 4am Skype call! (Yes mother that's you... 4am!! Please consult your iPhones world clock, payback is not necessary!!) lol
At 8:30 we left to return the car and stopped off at port Douglas' '4 mile beach' which was lovely! We returned the car and walked back to our apartment in the 32 degrees that had already racked up!
We caught out transfer back to cairns and picked up our new car that's ours for the next fortnight - we have called her Gerty!
So Hubs myself and Gerty got on the road to Mission Beach!
We were rolling down the road and saw a sign for 'Josephine falls' so we decided to go and take a look which was quite cool (actually it wasn't it was flipping baking!) and I'm sorry I don't have a picture as they're on my camera! But people were swimming and sliding down the falls, quite crazy! We then hopped back in Gerty and carried on our way! We arrived at mission beach and were completely bowled over by how beautiful it is! We have a fantastic room with a gorgeous beach view! Amazing!
We made our dinner reservation dumped all our stuff and headed for the sea (they have a netted off area also you are safe from beasties!) the sea was like bath water, so warm - just lovely! hubs tried drowning me a couple of times trying to prove I float! Yes I float for myself but I am not a life raft!! Rood!!
After our swim we sat and chilled on the lawn in deck chairs and put the world to rights!
At 6:30 we went for drinks and then dinner at 7! The food was fabulous! The best chiu yin calamari I've had!
The waitress service left a little to be desired but We think possibly she was brand new and thrown in the deep end so may have to let her off!
We claimed our bottle of fizz and are now settling in to do nothing!
Nunite peeps
Much love xxx

Advertisement



7th December 2015

Gotta love Patsy that's just what I would do, so confused as to the time. Think you are tucked up in bed by now looking at me eating my lunch - confused? you will be Still loving the blog it is wonderful reading and you said you weren't good at writing - what rubbish :-) xxxx

Tot: 0.49s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1669s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb