GOING HOME


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland
August 18th 2014
Published: August 25th 2014
Edit Blog Post

The End and the Beginning



Cairns Airport



I hurried all day yesterday doing nothing in particular. Then I started packing my dive gear. It was mostly dry. I also took half an hour to swim in the pool at the hostel, Cairns Central YHA. It was cool, but very pleasant and the only time in seven days that I took the time. I was like a swim magnet; three other people decided to get in at the same time. When we were through the children took over.



The rest of my day was spent blogging and editing photos. It takes a lot of time. I fell asleep about 10:30 p.m. I needed to finish packing but I just couldn’t stay awake. I woke at 2:45 a.m. I realized I had paid for another day of internet and wanted to use it, so I stayed up working on another blog and sent a few emails till it was time to pack in earnest, bathe, and fix a small breakfast. Suddenly it was time for the airport shuttle.



Everything went swimmingly at the airport. I was early, but today there were people already at the counter to help. I was able to check both bags all the way through, and get all the tickets for my journey home; there are two transfers, one in Sydney and one in Honolulu. Then I exchanged my Australian dollars and now am sitting near the gate for two hours. I keep dozing off. I needed more sleep. It is funny. I suddenly wake up and there is a paragraph consisting of the last letter of the word I had been typing when I nodded off...like thisssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss. It makes me laugh.



I am sure there will be little surprises during the flights and transfers on my way home. The trip isn’t over till it is over.



I am really looking forward to backpacking with my family and dressing up and going dancing with my friends. Maybe I will even take a day or two to rest and recuperate.



My friend says there is a lot of magic in life, but when you travel you see the magic more clearly. Look for the magic in your everyday travels. I will be looking, too.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0192s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb