Cape Flattery vs Cyclone Zane


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland
May 1st 2013
Published: May 1st 2013
Edit Blog Post

So now, Cape Flattery is my new best friend. Wilbur and I have cemented our love/hate relationship and we will spend the day mostly down below decks. I will explain.



We have been bunkered down in Cape Flattery cautiously watching the track for Cyclone Zane. We set the alarm for every 3 hrs when a new track was going to be updated on the BOM site. With that and a lot of prayer, I finally started to relax at 8am when indeed, Zane appeared to also be watching the BOM site, and even further to my prayers….actually heeded the advise and started turning slowly north. Cape Flattery has given us an excellent anchorage overnight, certainly buffeted some of the strong winds we were expecting, but most definitely kept the seas remarkably calmish. I am in love with Cape Flattery – my new best anchorage in the world!! Anchor was deeply bedded, out all the way and held securely. Wilbur on the other hand, continued to give me some grief. Wilbur is our wind generator – need I say more. He was the cause of most of my concern during the night. He made the 30kt winds sound like 60kts. (nothing that a pair of earplugs and an hour or two with my ipod didn’t fix really) But hence the love/hate relationship. I love the fact that his is pouring in the power (so that I can watch recorded TV to distract me from the wrath of Zane) and yet I hate the noise that he blares out (and seems to enjoy doing so at the loudest rate he can!) Phil actually turned him off for a bit, (after I yet again suggested that perhaps the winds were getting slightly too strong for him out there) but with Phil then reminding me about the power that we were now drawing instead of making…I turned him back on after the tv show finished. So here we are. Just now waiting for the rain to come that we can see on the radar, will catch up with more reading today and some lost sleep from last night. Was in contact with good friends and family overnight and really appreciate their thoughts and prayers. What would we have done without mobile (and internet) range….I hate to think. Thank you Zane for this minor hiccup in our northward adventures!!

So now, Cape Flattery is my new best friend. Wilbur and I have cemented our love/hate relationship and we will spend the day mostly down below decks. I will explain.



We have been bunkered down in Cape Flattery cautiously watching the track for Cyclone Zane. We set the alarm for every 3 hrs when a new track was going to be updated on the BOM site. With that and a lot of prayer, I finally started to relax at 8am when indeed, Zane appeared to also be watching the BOM site, and even further to my prayers….actually heeded the advise and started turning slowly north. Cape Flattery has given us an excellent anchorage overnight, certainly buffeted some of the strong winds we were expecting, but most definitely kept the seas remarkably calmish. I am in love with Cape Flattery – my new best anchorage in the world!! Anchor was deeply bedded, out all the way and held securely. Wilbur on the other hand, continued to give me some grief. Wilbur is our wind generator – need I say more. He was the cause of most of my concern during the night. He made the 30kt winds sound like 60kts. (nothing that a pair of earplugs and an hour or two with my ipod didn’t fix really) But hence the love/hate relationship. I love the fact that his is pouring in the power (so that I can watch recorded TV to distract me from the wrath of Zane) and yet I hate the noise that he blares out (and seems to enjoy doing so at the loudest rate he can!) Phil actually turned him off for a bit, (after I yet again suggested that perhaps the winds were getting slightly too strong for him out there) but with Phil then reminding me about the power that we were now drawing instead of making…I turned him back on after the tv show finished. So here we are. Just now waiting for the rain to come that we can see on the radar, will catch up with more reading today and some lost sleep from last night. Was in contact with good friends and family overnight and really appreciate their thoughts and prayers. What would we have done without mobile (and internet) range….I hate to think. Thank you Zane for this minor hiccup in our northward adventures!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.679s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb