White Water Rafting on the Tully River


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland
November 2nd 2007
Published: November 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, I am back in one piece! We were picked up early yesterday at 6.30am (eek!) and driven down to Tully which is a really rich farming area apparently and hosts the infamous Tully River.

We got kitted up and had safety talks and then got rafting - I was in a group of 7 along with Kayla, Ollie, Sarah and Lizzie as well as two other people called Jenny and Paul.

It was so much fun - I tried desperately not to fall out of the boat and succeeded (hurray!) but also was a bit adventurous and decided to join in the "swimming part" (Janis would be proud!) where you can swim one of the rapids instead of rafting it. NEVER AGAIN :o)

I inhaled a mouthful of water straight away and was just flung about all over the river, tossed like a ragdoll in the rapids - it's not dangerous, as the guides are there with ropes to throw at you, but I couldn't catch my breath and started thinking "Oh no!" as yet another wave dunked me under - bear in mind there were tons of rocks under the water!!! Sounds scarier than it prob was, and I managed to get out (albeit having a coughing fit) at the correct spot - not like Heather who carried on downstream and had to be rescued with the rope, haha!!!

Last night back at the hostel was fun - we went for the all you can eat Italian buffet for $9 which was fab (Mexican tonight - hurray) and then we did the pub quiz, coming a respectable 3/9 - we were team Ozintro, named after how the 12 of us met.

Just having a chilled out day today, in Cairns with Zoe - the others have moved to Gilligan's hostel but I'm staying at Calypso for now.

Hopefully Heather and Simone (who have gone skydiving today) will come back in one piece so I will have some dinner companions!

Here is me (far right) looking very excited about White Water Rafting - note, this is before the event lol.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0764s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb