Cape York - Weipa - Sunday 7th


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Weipa
June 7th 2015
Published: June 7th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Hi all, we woke up at Weipa. I was thinking this might be a quiet day. Well I was wrong. First we decided we would go on a tour of the Rio Tinto mine. Booked for the 8.30 tour which takes 2.30hrs. Well to my surprise Ken and Maureen were on the same tour. Ken was my old boss over 10 years ago. I knew they were coming up here but for us to meet on the same tour was unbelievable. The trip on the bus to the inside of the mine was incredible. There are some pictures attached. They are mining Bauxite in open cut fashion and the miners are all residential and live in Weipa. After the mine we went to the local bread shop and had a quick lunch there. The only two shops open were the tackle shop and the hot bread. Nothing else. After lunch we went and did some fishing off the pier at Weipa. Nothing biting but plenty of fish in the water. We came back and I changed Troopy's oil and air filter. The air filter was very dirty with red dust and the oil was as black as can be. All done and ready for the trip back. At 4.30 we went to the fishing competition show grounds and had a great time watching the fish being weighed in. Let me just say I reckon I would have got third if I had of weighed in my big fish. Very funny as Tracey is getting annoyed with me for continuing to remind her that I caught a big fish. We had our dinner at the food stands and then left home early for an early night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0928s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb