Things to do before the adventure can take off!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Toowoomba
October 13th 2010
Published: October 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My idea of an adventure up until this point was jumping out of a plane, flying to Sydney, or swinging around a pole (yes folks thats code for pole dancing). So to be now planning an adventure overseas when the furtherest I have been from home previously is Melbourne, is truly starting to re-define my idea of an adventure. Whats the plan you ask?

Vietnam - to teach English.

Why Vietnam?
Why teaching English?
Why do this?

I don't quite have those answers yet. All my gfs that I have my weekly coffee catch up with right now would be reading this and shaking their heads - so this is for you girls. Maybe I do have the answers but they're lurking in my subconscious and are not yet ready for TravelBlog perusal 😉

Right now I'm focused on the preparation stage of my trip, also commonly referred to as "Things to do", unfortunately I'm saddled with two "Things to do" lists - namely one of things I have to do before I can even (reasonably, responsibly and with no guilt) begin my second 'lets head overseas' list.

BEFORE "Things to do list"

1. I must finish my studies (sigh!) This involves one written piece of assessment, 20 hours of prac and 2 video'd pieces of assessment. Luckily I have 3 questions left of my written assessment, and have done half my prac. My aim is to have it all finished by the end of this month!

FINALLY "Things to do list"

1. SAVE SAVE SAVE!
2. Passport (this has to wait for the completion of step 1)
3. Tesol course (fortunately this is an independent step and can be completed at any stage) I am booked in to do this for the first week of December at ATA (gold coast)
4. Travel clinic (for vaccinations etc) I am going to Travel Clinics Australia in Toowoomba, whom a friend recommended. I did ask my Dr for info ... lets just say I think the travelling Drs might just have this one!
5. Travel Insurance (My friend who has just returned from China has suggested... umm yeah, better check on that one!)
6. Flights (now this is the scary one! I have no idea how much flights will be!) I am going to chat to some people at Student Flights in an attempt to get a heads up on this one.


So, quite a fair bit to do before I cry, photograph absolutely everything and everyone I love and head overseas.

In the inspiring words (yes this is somewhat tongue in cheek) of Oscar Wilde
"Nowadays most people die of a sort of creeping common sense, and discover when it is to late that the only things one never regrets are one's mistakes"

Inspiring female travelers I know at this moment that are also doing it solo!
- Kristy in Europe (previously QLD)
- Rach in W.A. (previously Qld/NSW)
- Dimi in QLD, Aus (previously Malaysia)
- Olive in QLD, Aus (previously NZ)
- Dani in W.A. (previously UK)
- Jade in Qld (recently returned from China)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 37; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb