The nerves are setting in...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Toowoomba
October 18th 2010
Published: October 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

‎"A journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step." -- Lao Tzu

One of the many quotes I am no doubt going to use during times when the idea of travel starts to scare me.

In reference to my previous blog I have now finished my written assessment components for my pt course and now only have 20 hours work placement and 3 pieces of taped assessment to hand in... and have assessed. Will be completed by the time I do my TESOL course, which gives me 6 weeks - plenty of time!

I have signed up to and paid for my TESOL course, its official - this IS going to happen. I should have my enrollment/info pack any time this week.

In 2 weeks I will be sending my passport off (assuming all is well), tracking down a parents birth cert/passport has proved the hardest task so far. Needles to say my passport photo leaves much to be desired, but apparently this is fairly normal. I look sweaty and gross in it, and my hair is a bit of a mess - realistically this is probably how I'm going to look every time I actually have to use it so I'm not overly worried.

I have begun to read travellers forums and blogs to try and get an understanding of Vietnam, and what life is like there for a Westerner. One thing I have noticed is that all that I have read so far have been couples blogs... Never fear! I'm sure i can do this on my own! Maybe all the single ladies are having to much fun to write blogs? Or maybe its more like Taken (Liam Neeson) and they've all been abducted and sold into the sex slave industry... ah ok - stopping now! Think I'll stick with the too much fun idea...

It is sort of strange to think that the first time I jumped on a plane to Melbourne a few years ago, I actually thought I needed a passport to fly interstate and yet here I am contemplating a REAL excursion, that not only needs a passport, but visas, injections, knowledge about local currency blah blah blah. How times have changed!

Needless to say I have noticed that the prospect of travel has made me sit back and appreciate what I have at my fingertips. My own car, a bed and home I am familiar with, friends on call, hugs on demand from my little brother. I am going to miss so much - even things like knowing that its best to turn left when exiting our street rather than attempt to cross the traffic. I am even starting to appreciate things like being able to read signs e.g. shopping center, directions...

On the other hand, its also made me look at small town gossip and worries with less respect (for want of a better word) in a few months none of this will relate to me.

I've had a couple of girlfriends drive the point home that travelling makes you stress a LOT less. I'm looking forward to this development in myself.

Thankyou to Rach, Jade, and Kristy for helping me get over my pre-pre-pre-pre travelling anxieties.

xx



Advertisement



20th October 2010

Turning Left
So glad to hear you are going so well. My little Carlie bug is all growing up. On a more serious note - seriously be careful with the left verus right side of the road thing! I nearly got taken out in Austria when I was walking on the left had side of the road...... which is into on-coming traffic not with the traffic. You are too skinny now - you'd look terrible if a car flattened you. xoxo can't wait to hear more about your explorations of the world and yourself. Love you lots

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb