A visit from the parental unit


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Taroom
November 4th 2011
Published: November 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Grandparents & NoahGrandparents & NoahGrandparents & Noah

My mum, Noah and my Dad
Mum and Dad stayed for two nights before heading off this morning. We won't catch them (or them us) again, as we won't be heading in the same direction now, they are on their way to Mt Isa. I think they enjoyed the extra time they had with Noah... especially since I palmed him onto them for a few hours yesterday while I studied.

Noah has had a few more run-ins with things recently and is now sporting a faint black eye and bruised cheek... he has a habit of hitting things with his head. I get the feeling we will be forever telling him to look where he is walking / running.

The weather continues to be hot here, but it cools down at night so there is at least some small relief. My thong tan (on my feet) continues to darken and I think my pale glowing legs are loosing some of their whiteness! The temp increase means Noah is no longer sleeping in his pea pod tent... he was waking in a lather of sweat, it was that bad during the day he left puddles on the base of the tent, so he is now sleeping on the second fold out bed end. Lucky we hadn't ditched the side of the wooden play pen we bought with us as it is now blocking the entry onto the bed so that Noah can't fall off or get out of bed when he should be going to sleep.

The heat is driving me to think about cutting my own hair... surely pulling it back in a ponytail and cutting some off will work? Can't look any worse than some haircuts I've paid for. Ryan just wants to shave his head, but he'll have to wait until we are in a town big enough to have a kmart or such so he can buy clippers.

We're spending the weekend here and heading out to the Glebe Weir early next week. Mum and Dad have pulled in there for the night and to give their dual kayak it's maiden voyage... we've heard from them and they survived, which is wonderful news as Dad is well known for tipping sit-on-top type watercraft. There's no drinking water out there, so we'll stay for as long as our water lasts... or until we run out of clothes :D

A local asked if we were new to town yesterday. It doesn't take them long to spot the new people. It seems to be a friendly place and probably a lovely place to live... just way too hot for us.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0197s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb