Surfer's Paradise With Jamie


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Surfers Paradise
November 7th 2010
Published: November 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Made it to Australia safe and sound and have already filled my time with new and exciting things!

The plane ride was a long one (26 hours in total) but it actually seemed to go by pretty quickly. I watch 2 full movies and half of two others. It was difficult to read on the plane because they kept it dark and most people tried to sleep. I had about 5 hours of sleep in total which I thought was pretty good. Then we were getting close to Australia (we were about 2 hours out of Brisbane) and then the captain came on and told us we did not have the legal amount of fuel to reach the destination. Huh? So we actually had to land at a french island called "Noumea" where we fuelled up. That left Jamie waiting for me at the airport for 4 hours. Poor guy. The island was beautiful though! Reminded me of Jurassic Park.

For my first full day in Australia Jamie taught me how to surf. At first the waves were a little scary but I got used to it and even tried standing up a couple times. I think with a little more speed I would've done it. All the Australian's were shocked that I wasn't going to rent a wetsuit (it was ONLY 25 degrees)... haha. Actually they got me a bit concerned too, but then I got in the water and it was warmer than any lake I've been to in Canada so I wasn't too worried after that ;P.

The next day Jamie and I went for a mountain hike. The roads were really tight and windy all the way up the mountain. We parked at this resort place at the top where we had lunch and fed the parrots then we went on a tree top trek. I have to say that was a little unnerving! For me at least. Jamie had no problem climbing up the tall ladders onto tiny little plaforms way up in the trees. I stuck to the bridges, haha.

Then we went on the big hike to a waterfall called Morans Falls. Really beautiful! Looks like it should be in a Discovery Channel documentary. The rainforest was really neat and the birds and trees were amazing!


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



6th November 2010

Keep It Comin'
Glad you made it safe and sound. Helloooooooo to Jamie. Love the pics so far. We are all jealous. Luv Luv

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0651s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb