Surfer's paradise- birthday time!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Surfers Paradise
July 22nd 2008
Published: July 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Spent much of my last day in Brisbane trying to find shoes that would fit onto my very swollen foot, as i was currently walkign round the city barefoot - lovely i know. Then hopped on the bus to surfers paradise , or surfer's parasite as my bus driver called it- hes clearly not a fan of touristy beach areas where all there is to do is surf, sunbathe and go out clubbing, but its fun for a few days!
When we arrived in surfers we found, to our great pleasure that Kristie siobhan caitlin and I were all in the same room in our hostel, and not only were we in teh same room we had a whole mini appartment block to ourselves- just 4 beds, a bathroom and a kitchen. I dashed off to the doctors where he told me he couldnt do anything for my foot and charged me a fortune for doing so, then went back to the appartment for dinner with the girls. We were so excited about the fact that we had an oven that we made a tuna pasta bake and baked some bread as well- turned out to be a really nice relaxed meal, very nice to feel like you are part of a group when you are travelling alone!
I stayed in that night to rest my foot- wanted to be as mobile as possible for my birthday the next day!

ON the actual day of my birthday we headed down to teh beach for a bit and basically lazed around doing not very much for most of the day. Once we got home i was first in the shower, and when i got out the girls had blown up balloons and made me a cake with candles and jelly babies on it. Along with that was a card and my birthday present- a penis shaped water bottle that they had filled with goon and was to become known as my goon cup... much cake and laughter all round, we slowly ate our way through an entire cake and 2 pizzas, as well as lots of goon. Then we headed outside for our "big night out".
As soon as we get to reception we are presented with cowboy hats and glowsticks, and board the "party bus" which has people from 5 other hostels on it and will take us to our first club.
The "big night out" consisted of us going as a group to 4 different clubs and getting a free drink in every club. I however, had the added bonus of it being my birthday, so in the second club i was given a free fishbowl full of some strange blue concoction, and in the 3rd club when i jokingly asked the bar man for a free drink when he stole my hat and wished me happy birthday, i was presented with yet another 2 free drinks of my choice!
It was a really good laugh, really nice to be out with the girls as a group having fun and being ridiculously cheesy (it was the cowboy hats that did it im sure)- plus we even managed to get home in time for a decent (ish) night's sleep!
The next morning we went to the hard rock cafe for a special birthday lunch. it was reall nice to actually eat in a restaurant and treat ourselves, and it was a gorgeous day so we all wore pretty dresses and sat on the balcony at the restaurant eating and drinking to our hearts content!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

siobhan and kristie at the hard rock cafe


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb