The Big 2 1 and other fairy tales


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Sunshine Coast
April 27th 2010
Published: April 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I’ll be quite honest with you. I had low expectations for my birthday. It started out sadly, as I woke up at 10 a.m. alone with no phone call from my parents (virtually impossible). I waffled around for a good half hour, but then got a phone call from Ashley, who proceeded to sing “Happy Birthday” to me in Spanish.

After that, I got on Skype and “opened” my birthday present from Kory. He got me a horseback ride through the bush and onto the beach in Noosa with Ashley! It was probably one of the best gifts I’ve ever received.

Shortly after that, I got another phone call from the front desk, telling me that I had MORE flowers! Pete, Amanda, Jake, Heidi, and Royce (my siblings, sibling-in-law, and sibling-in-law to be) had sent me some 😊

I had class in the afternoon, which sucked, but then after that I came back to get ready to head to Montezuma’s (Mexican place) for dinner with all of my friends. There were probably about 10 of us, and I was bought about 3 drinks and then plenty of Sangria.

Afterwards, I figured we’d all catch a bus back
Flowers :)Flowers :)Flowers :)

Thanks Heidi, Royce, Amanda, Pete, and Jake!
and watch a movie or something, but I went up to Ashley’s room and it was completely decorated with balloons, streamers, a poster, and there was cake! It was such a great thing for them to do, as they all knew I was pretty nervous about having my golden 21st in a foreign country.

All in all, it was a very low key but super fun birthday. I spent the weekend hanging out here doing homework, and then on Sunday I went to the beach with some friends. Sunday, Australia celebrated ANZAC Day (a memorial day for soldiers who fought in World War I, and soldiers from Australia in general), so everyone was relaxing and out with their families, while we dozed on the beach.

The waves were absolutely nuts, so we got tired of body surfing pretty quickly because they’d knock us over and rip us out. After that, we all came back and just hung out.

Monday, I got to go horseback riding for my birthday! I was so nervous we weren’t going to make it, because it was super hard to find. We had to stop for directions more than a few times, and found out we’d have to take a car ferry. The only ferry experience I have is with the ferry’s in Seattle, and if you miss your ferry, you wait an hour. Thankfully, this ferry could carry about 8 cars, and only went one minute across the river.

I ended up on a horse named Jabiru (Jabbie for short) who was a male American Quarterhorse. He used to be a trick horse and was very obedient. I was sitting on a $7,500 horse! I absolutely loved riding for 45 minutes through the bush to the beach, 30 minutes on the beach taking pictures, trotting, cantering, and then 45 minutes back through the bush. Best afternoon ever!

Now I’m struggling through getting some major assignments done for the week. On the bright side, I have 59 days left here. You’re probably thinking “Only 59?!”. Nah, kids, I’m missin’ home. Australia is beautiful and wonderful, but it’s no Minnesota. See you soon!



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Backseat awkwardnessBackseat awkwardness
Backseat awkwardness

on the way to Noosa
Trip homeTrip home
Trip home

from Noosa


27th April 2010

Well I'm glad you had a good bday. We'll clelbrate when you get home! I miss you! see you in 59 days.

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb