What I love about Australia...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Sunshine Coast
April 15th 2010
Published: April 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Uni CentralUni CentralUni Central

out my front door :)
For reasons unbeknownst to me, I am finding it very hard to be here lately. I’m in Australia…this is a once in a lifetime chance and the only trip I will ever take here in my entire life. I need to make the most of it.

SO, to help me do that, I am going to write an extensive list that contains (almost) everything I will miss about Australia when I get home. Please note that a lot of this list will consist of certain food items. I explore the world through my stomach. Anyone who knows me, knows this.

1. Double Coat Tim Tams
2. Woolworth’s and Cole’s brand food
3. Woolworth’s gummy bears
4. Isn’t it funny that my first 3 items are food?
5. 10 minute bus-rides to the oceans
6. Berto, Eddie, Mitch, and Jamma
7. Making dinner with Ashley every night
8. Sitting by the pool before, after, and sometimes during class
9. O’Malley’s
10. Dancing on Ashley’s balcony
11. Sausage rolls
12. Endless fish n’ chips
13. Sunshine Plaza
14. Frozen Raspberry Fanta
15. Ping pong at the pav
16. Mick the security guard
17. Living in a gated community
18. Having a
Kory's SurpriseKory's SurpriseKory's Surprise

The beautiful bouquet my boyfriend sent me :)
cleaner once a fortnight
19. The words: rubbish, hey, boot, cordial, and many more
20. Sauce—my red headed Australian friend
21. Brad—an Aussie boy who dances to Party in the USA whenever Ash n I play it
22. Eagle Boys BBQ Meatlovers Pizza and “Dessert Thingies”
23. Warmth
24. The sunset
25. The sunrise
26. The beautiful flowers
27. The amazing scenery everywhere
28. Cheap Tuesdays (everything is discounted almost everywhere on Tuesdays)
29. Beaches
30. Having my own room and bathroom
31. Tim Tams
32. Minties (an awesome mint candy chew)
33. Tim Tams
34. Did I mention Tim Tams?

I’m sure if I thought hard enough I’d maybe be able to come up with some more…but for now, this is the list.

One thing you learn while studying abroad is that you should never take anything at home for granted. While I’m still slowly falling in love with Australia, I have fallen in love even more with Minnesota, and I can wait to kiss the ground when I get home.

Aside from all of that mush, it has been extremely hard to make myself get back into Uni mode. After a two week break consisting of Cairns, Sydney, the pool, local beaches, and the Noosa beach, doing homework and attending class now while the weather is finally gorgeous is so hard! It was a hard week anyway because after all the travel was done from my break, and we had just relaxed all during the second week of break, the reality of missing home hit me hard again.

Lucky for me, I have an amazing boyfriend who sent me flowers that I got on Tuesday. It was just what I needed to get me through the next few weeks.

As far as weather goes, it has only rained once within the past week. The days are hot and sunny, and the evenings are very cool. I wear sweatshirts and jeans very often!

Also, next week I celebrate my golden birthday here on the Sunshine Coast…the big 21! I think it’s going to be hard to deal with the fact that I have class Thursday and can only go out for dinner and a few drinks Wednesday night…not what I had envisioned a few years back for my 21st. Luckily, I have some great new friends to celebrate with here, and supposedly a great birthday surprise to look forward to from my boyfriend…

It’s crazy to think that I’ve been here for two months already, but even crazier to think that I still have two months left to go.

I have approximately 71 more days to go here, that’s about 10 weeks…two weeks of that will be time that I have off to pack and study, then finals, then I’m home. Love you all very much 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

KoalaKoala
Koala

Look really hard and you'll see the little guy nestled up on the thickest branch.
Overpriced?Overpriced?
Overpriced?

They get paid more here, hence the higher prices. Sugary foods are highly priced as well, hence the low level of obesity in Australia.


18th April 2010

Well your over the hump at least! You can make it. We will party hearty when you get home believe you me!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb