Rainbow Beach- The beginning


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Rainbow Beach
October 19th 2014
Published: October 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post


One of the many beautiful days at Carlo Sand Blow
To say I was a little apprehensive and scared to head to Rainbow Beach was an understatement! I had managed to score a work for accom position for what was supposed to be a couple of weeks, save some money and head back to the UK after a horrendous, but long overdue break up of almost six years.

Premier bus booked and off I went. Arriving in Rainbow a few hours later and I wasn't that impressed. My old and well practised pessimistic side in full swing already! Heading up to the staff room, I made my top bunk home and shyly introduced myself to the other English and German room mates. I took the offer of attending a local's birthday meal and quickly felt more at ease knowing 10 or so faces out of the 1600 or so residents.

As the days went on, I became an expert at washing up, shouting 'your dinner's ready number 5' and making the hostel beds, hot work in the Aussie Summer, but 4 or so hours work was hardly difficult, but to a backpacker, it was!

I started exploring Carlo Sand Blow, the gorgeous beach and getting acclimatised to mid

Not a soul in sight..Rainbow Beach
day lie ins and 'staff' drinks which occurred daily. Days passed and the tan got better and better. So many highlights to mention, but sky diving over Rainbow, endless fishing trips, Fraser Island visits, dolphin kayaking, surfing, Christmas parties, sunsets, beach bonfires, thunderstorms, whales, sharks, turtles, being flooded in and house parties are rated highly as some of the best days of my life. Ever.

Rainbow is an incredible place, amazing people, ever changing backpackers..just one of the Australia's best kept secrets. I am glad Rainbow is still relatively seen as a pass through as too many people would definitely change it and whilst the small town thrives on tourism, Fraser Island will always continue to draw people and can survive on those crazy-busy-can't-move-for-people- days, but when it's back to it's normal, serene self; it's nice to have it back to yourself again!

Rainbow Beach will always be my spiritual home; I am not a hippy; though I love the thought, but it is here where I found the love of my life, some amazing friends who I still talk to often and just made me fall in love with the country where I thought my life had

Carlo Sand Blow
once fallen apart and for that I am truly grateful.

Dive #205 baby!


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Carlo Sandblow- So many blues, greens and orange colours- Truly magical


Sunset @ Carlo Sand Blow


Rainbow Beach Surf Club- Best views imaginable


Me @ Carlo


Another sunset


Alex and I @ Carlo Sand Blow


Rainbow Beach


On one of my many beach walks


Rainbow Beach


Hard to say what day this was; pretty much everyday looked like this


Rainbow Beach via Rainbow Shores


Washed up treasure


Inskip Point


Inskip Point


Rainbow Beach lookout and love of my life


One of the many beach bonfires


Sunset @ Carlo Point


Lake McKenzie- Fraser Island


Champagne Pools- Alex & I- Fraser 3day 2 night 4X4 adventure


Lake McKenzie- Fraser Island


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb