Day 4: Port Douglas


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Port Douglas
September 13th 2015
Published: September 13th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Started the day pretty hungover. Ended up hanging out with these 2 kiwi guys last night who showed me around Cairns. Watched a bit of the blue jays demolishing the Yankees this morning, then got a rental car to drive to Port Douglas.

The drive from Cairns to Port Douglas is supposed to be one of the most scenic and amazing drives in Australia. Many people have told me that, but I kind of shrugged it off and didn't have too high expectations. 10 minutes into the drive I was pulling over taking pictures. My jaw was dropped pretty much the whole drive. This is one of the nicest places I've ever been to in my life. Words can't really describe this place.

Port Douglas is where the 110 million year old daintree forest meets the coast. You have rainforest, beaches, reefs, incredible mountains, it goes on and on. This town is a lot family oriented than Cairns - lots of couples, families, retirees. I walked around for a bit and absolutely feel in love with this place. I'd say it's a mix of fern gully in Jamaica, Cinque Terre, the small town vibe of Ghent and the weather of Cayman.

Tomorrow I'm getting up nice and early to go diving on the great barrier reef. The tour I booked is supposed to be the best day tour available. Another night in Port Douglas tomorrow, then Cape Tribulation on Tuesday.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb