Day 6 Cape Tribulation


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cape Tribulation
September 16th 2015
Published: September 16th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I didn't post yesterday, so I'll say a bit about yesterday too. Went scuba diving in Port Douglas to the great barrier reef. As we were boarding the ship, every crew member asked if we had taken stomach sickness medication. I had never been seasick before, so hadn't taken any, but was finally convinced when the 7th crew member insisted on taking some. I'm so glad I did - I had never seen waves like that before ever. People were getting sick left, right and centre. We did 3 dives for the day and they were all incredible! Saw a shark, lots of turtles, tons of colourful fish and coral.



The next morning, I woke up pretty early to drive to Cape Tribulation. About half way I stopped to do a river tour on the daintree river. We saw about 8 crocodiles including the dominant male in the region who was HUGE. He's about 4.5 metres long and weighs about a ton. Right after the river tour ended it started pouring (it is the rainforest afterall). To get across the Daintree river, you have to take a ferry. It's not realy a "ferry" though, it's a giant barge that is pulled across the river by 2 cables. The drive from the Daintree River to Cape Tribulation was pretty spectacular. It's the oldest rainforest in the world and is completely untouched. I had a bunch of jungle hikes and walks planned, but it was completely pouring so I couldn't really do anything. I met a girl from Calgary who works there (first Canadian I've met!)



Drove back to Cairns this morning to return the car. I'm doing a tour of the Atherton Tablelands either tomorow or Friday.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb