Entrance to Queensland


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Noosa
September 24th 2007
Published: September 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After leaving the hippes of Byron Bay I headed for Noosa in Queensland, "The Sunshine State". I arrived in Noosa just as a huge thunderstorm settled over the area. I absolutely love being in the tropics, but the necessary rain isn't my favorite. The bone soaking downpour lasted a few hours and denied me from even leaving the hostel.

I decided on Noosa after electing to skip the big area of Surfers Paradise and Brisbane. From other travelers I heard nothing good about this area unless you really wanted pubs and clubs. After passing through these areas on the bus I think I made a good decision. Surfers was basically a little Miami Beach with huge high rises and clubs that stayed open till 5 am.

My first full day in Noosa I spent at the Australia Zoo. It is the official home of the Crocodile Hunter Steve Irwin. It was an amazing zoo set over a huge area. I went to a few different shows throughout the day including the croc show. They had a few huge enclosed fields that you could walk through and hang out with all the kangaroos and koalas. There was a big memorial
Me & KangaMe & KangaMe & Kanga

Australia Zoo
for Steve Irwin which was interesting to see.

Back at the hostel I won some pool tournament and hung out with some Irish/Canadians/Scots for most of the evening. The next day I did a 10k hike through the national park which is boast woodlands and rainforest. I managed to see a big group of dolphins off the coast chasing some school of fish or something. Next I'm off to Hervey Bay which is the jump off point for Fraser Island where I'll be spending 3days/2nights 4 wheeling with a group of 10 random backpackers.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb