Day 30 - The Brazilians, Ulla and Matti are leaving us - Free day in Noosa


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Noosa
March 21st 2024
Published: March 21st 2024
Edit Blog Post

Oh dear, today’s blog is not very interesting, because the day has not been interesting…. I guess that, like me, you have to take the good with the bad!

This morning I was woken up by noises at the side of my cabin tent! It was way too early because today is sleep in day! I went out to be met by three kangaroos. As I peeked around my cabin tent corner, and obviously, I interrupted their play, they all looked up at me, as if they were in trouble! Then they hopped away!

This done, I was now fully awake! Although, I did get back into bed to finish the film that I fell asleep watching last night! It was rubbish, maybe that’s why I fell asleep last night!

I got showered and dressed to go for breakfast at 8am. Today is a sad day as the Brazilians, Ty, Pedro and Mateus are leaving. They are giving a lift to Ulla and Matti, as they are also leaving. So today we go from a group of 10, to a group of only 5. They will all be missed for their individual personalities, and their input to the group.

To add to that, it is raining hard this morning. The weather really isn’t good enough to go out in. We have no activity planned for today. It is listed as a free day in Noosa. That is great when the weather is good, but today is definitely not a good weather day, so I’m already bored!

It’s funny, when I am busy, busy, busy, all I want to do is relax. Today is a perfect relax day, yet I’m itching to get out! You just can’t win!

I was really looking forward to meeting with my friend tonight for a coffee catch up, but sadly, our free day in Noosa was switched from the Wednesday to the Thursday, which didn’t really work for us! Claire has to work today, so it simply wasn’t that easy to coordinate. I feel that the distance, and travel time is too much for someone who has to also put a full days work in. I’m sad about that, but it’s definitely the right decision to cancel.

After breakfast Angelika stopped at my cabin for a chat for a while, then headed off to do her own relaxing.

I took my iPad over to the bar area to connect to the WiFi. I’ve watched the whole of series 5 of Virgin Rivers, up to the final episode, episode 12, but I can’t watch it as it needs re-downloading from Netflix. So I’m going over to the cafe bar to download it, then I can finally watch the last one!

I’m super fuming with Netflix it will not connect for me to renew the download. I spent about 30 minutes trying! So instead, I’ll try to connect YouTube, I do follow quite a few chateau renovation channels on there. I also can’t connect that. So frustrating! So I gave up and returned to my cabin in the rain!

Out of desperation, I’ve sorted my case, and all its contents again. Not that I needed to, but it gave me something to do! Now, I’m just watching, and listening to the rain and wind, pacing the floor, and going stir crazy!

Then I remembered that I can at least watch my last downloaded film on Netflix, it’s about an open ocean swimmer called Nyad. I’m not sure if I really want to watch that particular film, but it’s all I’ve got right now.

The wind is blowing so hard now. The cavas walls of the cabin are banging hard. It feels like it will lift, and take off at any minute! It wasn’t long before I fell to sleep. I fell into such a deep sleep! At one point, I was dreaming that an animal had come into my room, I felt like I could feel the weight of it in my bed, yet I consciously knew it was a dream. One of those dreams when you know it’s a dream, but you can’t wake yourself up. You can’t even move, and the more you try, the more paralysed you are! It’s horrible. Finally, I woke myself up and dragged myself out of the bed. I felt like I’d been drugged! I made a cup of black Earl Grey tea, and pulled myself around!

It’s now around 2:30. I got a text from Temu, just to let me know they are getting lunch in the cafe bar. I decided to get myself sorted, and make a dash for it through the rain! I’ve got cabin fever, I need to get out of here! OK, that’s a bit dramatic, but I do need a change of scenery.

I set off, it’s only a short walk, but I arrived resembling a drowned rat! Lunch was good though, I had a Japanese style prawns and noodles with wakame . I had to ask what wakame was. I had no idea!

Wakame is a nutritious, edible seaweed that can add a range of vitamins and minerals to your diet for a low number of calories.

After lunch Charles, Sarah and I went with Lyndsey in the bus to have a look around Noosa, potentially to take a walk around, but this rain is persistent! I’m not sure that I’ll even get out of the bus!

We passed a village called Tewantin. It is a small village on the Noosa River and was originally a timber town, and the river port for the Noosa area.

When we arrived in Noosa. It is a resort area on the Sunshine Coast. Known for its heavy surf, Sunshine Beach is backed by cafes and boutiques. A coastal trail runs north past the beaches of Noosa National Park, home to koalas around Tea Tree Bay. Although that all maybe true, it’s not quite how it comes across on a wild, wet, and windy day like today!

Lyndsey drove around, showing us all the local areas. We eventually dropped Charles and Sarah off in a cafe/shopping area. They are happy to suffer the weather. I gave Charles a request for cake before he left us!

Maybe it’s an age thing that I’m not prepared to swap the dry comfort of the bus to look in shops!! I stayed with Lyndsey, she needed to do a few run around jobs. We stopped at a little shopping arcade for her to grab a few bits. I had a wander, as it’s all undercover! I did buy a plastic poncho! Which is now my one, and only, waterproof item! I did intend to grab my pack-a-mac from my car before leaving, but forgot to!

We sent Charles a text to say we were done, if they are ready for a return drive. They declined, explaining that they have found a karaoke bar, so would stay and enjoy the fun. He did ask us to fly by to pick up cake! Woop woop! He also put an invite for anyone else to join them, but it’s a long Uber drive for Angelika and Timo (I’ve been misspelling his name all this time!) and I’m definitely not putting anyone through the agony of hearing me shouting along to music! So they stayed in Noosa, we headed back to Habitat Noosa.

I took photos along the journey: a koala sign, the river, beach side house, fallen trees, a bit of car park flooding, just to set the scene! It was all part of today’s journey. We were out for about 2-3 hours. I enjoyed it, and it certainly did break my day up!

It’s now 7pm, I’m back in my cabin, the rain is still pouring hard, the wind hasn’t eased at all. The first thing I did when I got back was to make a coffee…. to enjoy with my, ‘Fiona’s Fancy Tiramisu cup cake’. It was so light and fluffy; it was like a Japanese Jiggly Cake! Gorgeous.

Angelika visited to ask if I wanted to go over the cafe bar for dinner, but I declined…. I’ve just eaten that huge cake! I had my lunch late, at about 2:45, so I’m really not hungry. With all this rain continuing, I think I’m now in for the evening!

FYI: You will see my final photo of the day is a great photo of a possum. I did take one myself the other night, but mine was rubbish, then Temo showed me his photo, it is so clear! He gave me a copy, so I’ve added it….. this one is sooooo much better than mine …thank you Temo ….ha ha

It’s now 9:20, weather update…. No change! I’m not sure if I have said this already, but I do keep thinking my cabin is going to take off at any minute! The noise of both the wind, and the rain beating down, non stop, is incredible!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.639s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 15; qc: 61; dbt: 0.3578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb