Canada Day, eh!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Mission Beach
July 2nd 2006
Published: July 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Opera HouseOpera HouseOpera House

The beautiful view of the Sydney Opera House on arrival into Sydney
Wow, I have so much to update for since the last entry, that I have to split it up into two!

Johanna and I left for Noosa on Saturday, June 24th, and absolutely loved it there. We stayed at a really nice hostel where we took advantage of the free surf boards, boogie boards, and kayaks everyday. We went shopping the first day, met up with Marcus, and met some really fun British guys. I ended up staying up (hardly) that night for the !:00 AM game of Sweden vs. Germany, because Johanna needed some more support than just herself cheering for Team Sweden. The Monday after, we decided to book our seats on the free bus to the Australia Zoo, or better known as Steve Irwin, the Crocodile Hunter's Zoo. We went and saw everything. We watched huge crocodiles being fed, a tiger show, spiders and snakes, wombats, cuddly koalas, and one with a baby, and a million kangaroos! I bought some kangaroo food for 50 cents and fed a ton of them. Their fur was so unbelievable soft.

We were a little dissapointed, because we heard that Harriet, the tortois that helped Charles Darwin with his theory
HarbourHarbourHarbour

The view of the harbour from the Opera House. It's truly magnificent!
died the Friday prior to us arriving at the Zoo. She was 175 years old. And.....Steve Irwin had been at the Zoo the day before to mourn her death, so we had just missed him. Crikey!

On Tuesday, we all woke up early to go boogie boarding and surfing, which was so much fun. The sun was out, and the beach in Noosa was amazing. By far one of my favorite cities in Australia so far. After that, I packed up all my stuff and left to take the 21 hour greyhound trip back up north to Magnetic Island to meet my friends.

It was a really long and boring trip, and everytime I woke up, someone else would be sitting accross from me. I was so excited to finally get to Townsville, to catch the ferry to meet my friend Matt on Magnetic Island.

Now, the hostel we stayed at should've been referred to as a resort really, apart from the size of the dorms, but it was directly on the beachfront, had a really nice pool to tan by, and a line of hammocks to chill out in. The bar was alot of fun too,
BirdsBirdsBirds

These parrots were drinking right from my water bottle. Right near the Opera House. Very cool!
and Danny, my british friend even taught me how to play pool, so Im not horrible anymore.

After the most fun, the best weather and the coolest group of backpackers yet, we had to say goodbye and make our way up north to Mission Beach to do some white-water-rafting!

It had been perfect timing too, because the hostel we stayed at was being run by Canadians, and we arrived on Canada Day, so it was a huge party that night! We started the night off with the an amazing Kangaroo Dinner. It's really nice and tender meat actually. Then, we headed to a bar called "Coconuts" for some fun. I wore my blue "Canada" shirt (Thanks Mom), so naturally, I was picked for the contests. I was in three contests. One of which I had to chug 2 L of FULL CREAM milk. Matt and two other Canadians were in it as well, and I was pissed off after to find out that everyone else had low fat milk. Matt beat me by less than 200 mL, and ended up winning a $450 package for skydiving and white-water-rafting. There was no prize for second place, and trust me,
Girls Night outGirls Night outGirls Night out

Nicole and I getting ready for a night out at "The Woolshed" in Cairns.
you wouldv'e been mad too if you drank that much milk and didn't get anything out of it in the end. Urrrrrrrrrrrgh!

The next morning, we took it easy, lied on the beach and sunbathed. It was really nice. The pool at the hostel had a log that ran accross the deep end, so we had a few noodle wars on that.

Now, the next I want to say is just too good to be stuffed into this entry, so I will save it for the next one. I really hope everyone had fun on Canada Day. Catch ya later!

Marie 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 92, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Girls Night out Girls Night out
Girls Night out

Downing the goon BABY
My Holding CellMy Holding Cell
My Holding Cell

This was my room while working on the banana farm for 3 weeks. It looked like a prison cell if you ask me.
DinnerDinner
Dinner

My friend Jaye and I. He caught fish that day, and made us a delicious dinner........
DessertDessert
Dessert

...and an even better dessert!
My BedMy Bed
My Bed

What my bed looked like after a couple weeks of work on the farm....not at it's cleanest.
Waxed FeetWaxed Feet
Waxed Feet

My work on the banana farm consisted of dipped "Eco-friendly" bananas in red wax. It was their trademark. So, this is how my feet lokked at the end of the day, everyday.
Farm FriendsFarm Friends
Farm Friends

I worked with Risto (Finland), Patrick (Scottland), and Franzi (Germany). They all kept me sane during the 3 weeks.
Banana TreesBanana Trees
Banana Trees

You'd never want to eat a banana again either!
2 1/2 Hours Late!2 1/2 Hours Late!
2 1/2 Hours Late!

This is the bus my friends and I caught to Townsville. The bus driver had only been on the job for a week, and was late because he crashed into a telephone pole. This was also MY seat.
Sailing TripSailing Trip
Sailing Trip

This is us celebrating Jerad's 25th birthday on the boat.


Tot: 0.236s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 63; dbt: 0.1862s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb