My Pink Safari


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Hervey Bay » Fraser Island
June 23rd 2006
Published: June 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Okay, so I did the surf lessons the next day, and they were so much fun. Me, and my swedish friend, Johanna were amazed at how well we were doing. We stood up plenty a times, and I got my French Canadian friend, Julien to snap pictured of me while doing it. Our lessons lasted 2 and a half hours! The weather turned out to be a tad rainy afterwards, so I decided to cancel the flying plans.

My birthday was amazing. I couldn't have asked for a funner day! Matt, my friend from Winnipeg, was giving me digeradoo lessons, when 3 of my british friends surprised me with 2 Tim-Tams, along with 19 tea light candles! It was so nice! I was so sad to leave the next day. It was hard too, because me and my friends stayed up talking till about 3 in the morning, so I was beat!

When Johanna, Marcus and I arrived in Hervey Bay, we were so excited to see a Woolworths, Target, and Crazy Clark's! Our driver also informed us about this cute little irish pub that offered a free meal up to a value of $25 if it was your birthday.........WHAT A COINCIDENCE! So after settling in our hostels, and planning our 3 day/2 night safaris for the next morning, we went out to celebrate my 19th birthday with a free meal, and a couple jugs of VB.

The next morning, we set out in our pink 4x4s to discover Fraser Island, the largest sand island in the world. We went sliding down sand dunes on boogie boards into lakes.....well, I fell off of mine right before hitting the water, so managed to do the crawl of shame into the lake infront of everybody. We didn't have the best of weather, but we managed to have our tents all set up before the rain would pour down, and the food was GREAT!

Our bright pink jeep broke down twice, and it was really funny, because there was this guy from Korea in our group, and he didn't speak a whole lot of english, so he didn't have a care in the world. He would just run into the waves, and play in the sand while we were all freking out and trying to dig our way out of the sand. The surf looked amazing, but Fraser Island is a large breeding area for Tiger Sharks, so unless a person was suicidal, we didn't enter the waters. When we reached "Indianhead", a viewpoint at the northern tip of the island, we saw sharks, sting rays, and whales splashing about. It was pretty cool. We even saw a ton of dingos at night, which was scary, but as long as we took a friend to the bathrooms with us, we were fine.

It's funny how much we all looked forward to sleeping in a hostel bed, but after the 2 nights in a tent, and the countless amounts of sand we all ate (that flew into our food), it was like Home Sweet Home.

Johanna, and I decided to stay another night in Hervey Bay, relax, wash our clothes, then head to Noosa Heads for some amazing surfing tomorrow. Absolutely CANNOT wait!

Thanks to everyone for all the birthday wishes! Hugs and Kisses!

Marie 😊



Advertisement



29th June 2006

What are \"jugs of VB\"?
What is the VB that you had on your birthday Marie?
6th July 2006

VB?
VB stands for Victoria Bitter Dad. It's a good beer. You'd like it.

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0755s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb