Jumping from 14,000 ft!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
July 6th 2006
Published: July 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Rafting the Tully RiverRafting the Tully RiverRafting the Tully River

I look a little scared going down this waterfall......but wouldn't you be too?
Okay, so as I was saying in my last entry, Matt won a package to go skydiving and white-water-rafting, so naturally he convinced myself and Paul to come along. At first, I said "No, absolutely not", but after a while I thought, how amazing would that be to free fall for a full minute on a beautiful sunny day, above the great barrier reef, and then to land on a beach. I was sold!

I woke up the morning of, and had butterflies in my stomach. I was scared as hell, but I knew I wanted to go through with it. We arrived at the skydive shop, and had a short briefing about how to be when jumping out. I don't think I remembered any of it. I was just too scared. We got our gear on, and because we all wanted DVDs to go with the whole experience, we did our little interviews, and were off to board the little plane. I was trying to take in as many big breaths as I could as we were ascending. It wasn't helping too much. The feeling you get from 14,000 feet, looking out of a plane you know you're going
Rafting the Tully RiverRafting the Tully RiverRafting the Tully River

Still looking scared. I was really tough though, and paddled hard. Really, I did!
to jump out of, is unbelievable. Its euphoric, really. Then, my buddy gave me the signal. Matt was to go first, then me, then Paul. When Matt jumped out, thats when I started screaming. It was so crazy. I just wrapped my arms accross my chest, held my head back against my buddys neck, and dangled my legs over the plans edge. Then we just fell. We free-falled for one full minute. I was swallowing so much air, and trying to give thumbs up to the camera man. It was so cool. I was all smiles in the air. The minute really felt like 15 seconds. After my buddy pulled the parachute, we just floated above the Ocean, amazed at how beautiful the view of the great barrier reef and the beach was. It was the best feeling of my life! We spun a few times around, and I even saw a sea-cow, which apparantly are very rare at this time of year. Then, we landed on the beach, and I swore I was going to be doing it again soon!

After it was all done, we went back to our hostels and watched the DVDs they made for
Rafting the Tully RiverRafting the Tully RiverRafting the Tully River

Ya! It was such an awesome time!
us. They're so cool to watch! I'm planning on sending a copy home Mom and Dad, so you can watch it!

The next day, we went white-water rafting on the Tully River. It was really cool. We fell out of the boats a few times, going down grade 4 waters. We decided to all go in for a DVD and pictures on that one too, so I'll try to send some pictures of that trip soon.

The skydiving was by far the highlight of the trip to Mission Beach. Matt and I are already planning to go skydiving, and bungy jumping in New Zealand. We want to do the Neves, which is the highest bungy in the southern Hemisphere, and the second highest in the world. Its 134 m, and you're falling for 9 seconds before you stop. I might need a little more convincing, once I actually see it, but I want to do it so badly right now. The thrill you get is so worth it!

Well, we arrived in Cairns yesterday, and we're on the lookout for some serious money-making jobs now. Hopefully we'll all be settled soon with work, and then we'll be
Piece a' cake!Piece a' cake!Piece a' cake!

The day is done, and we're all smiles. It was totally worth it!
on our way to the Outback!

Woohoo! Life is fun!

Marie 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0672s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1020.2kb