Exercising the art of relaxation...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Magnetic Island
May 23rd 2006
Published: May 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well hello mister turtle...Well hello mister turtle...Well hello mister turtle...

This was the cutest little thing...but just simply moved too fast and blurring for the camera...
It's amazing how close Magnetic Island is to the mainland yet when you are there you feel totally away from everything. The ferry took about twenty minutes and was a bit choppy. I stayed at Base Backpackers which is literally on the beach at Nelly Bay. I found a special deal and for $79 I got two nights accomodation($54), a jug of cocktail($15), hour internet($5), hour sea kayaking($20), dinner($10) and my return ferry transfer($25)...oh how I love my bargains...

Alot of my time on the island I spent with a girl called Charlotte, who I had in fact been speaking to from a gapyear website since last October! By sheer coincidence we were in the same dorm in Townsville and both heading to the island the same day...small small world...We used a double kayak in the sea and paddled out quite far but still a bit away from the shark net...feeling like we were going to pass out in our boiling life jackets we awkwardly got/fell out of the kayak to cool off. The temperature of the sea was perfect. I loved bobbing about with my lifejacket on to keep me afloat rather than treading water...

The feral cats
Lucy loves little huts...Lucy loves little huts...Lucy loves little huts...

My home was the third one from the left with the 'street' being named Palm View...Australians...say what you see...
at the hostel you wern't meant to pay any attention to as they are a big problem for the island...but they were so unbelievably cute...one little kitten came up on the bench and looked up at me, showing that it was cross-eyed...it was the sweetest thing, I've never ever seen a cross eyed cutie kitten before..awww...

In the evenings more or less everyone staying at the hostel would gather by the beach decking for evening drinks and on my last night there was a bit of dancing too...they played the time warp...making me want to go and see the Rocky Horror show in Sydney even more...

The ferry back to Townsville was such a smooth crossing, you couldn't feel that you were travelling over water at all...I listened to the mix cd you made me Small for this journey...and the Michael Buble one...well your reason for putting it on there worked but still, I'm not coming home! I do in fact love it out here too much and am having heaps and heaps of fun, so I don't see myself coming home early somehow...

My last night in the town of Townsville I met up with another
Cats galore...Cats galore...Cats galore...

There were heaps of these cutie little cats although we were told to ignore them as they're feral...still they were adorable...
person who I've been speaking to since October...we went out for dinner (i love tofu now since travelling with Vegans for 10 days) and a few drinks...it was so strange but great to finally meet him after speaking for months...oh yes, and I also went to the Reef HQ to see the beautiful life that is in the reef...although this weekend I am in fact going to be visiting the outer barrier reef myself for snorkelling on my 3 day 3 night boat trip round the Whitsunday Islands...Lucy is very excited indeed...

Advertisement



26th May 2006

Turtle time
Its 5am here and ive just seen my own turtle that was poking out saying hi! back to bed now lov u sis ps i'll be calling Ian over the next couple of weeks to arrange to pop over mmmmmmmmmmmwwwwwwwwaaaahhh pib x
26th May 2006

beautiful beautiful beautiful
that is pretty crazy that you met that girl?! it must be nice to just bump into people that you have atleast spoken to for a little bit before. this is nothing to do with australia.. but i am completely hooked on scrubs.. and it always makes me think of you. if you want anything else to read out there, try and get a danny wallace book, they are fantastic and so so funny. glad you are still enjoying yourself and nothing sounds stressful! one massive holiday! lovely. Keep safe xxxxxxxx
26th May 2006

Hey madam if you can see the shark nets YOU are to CLOSE to them, really enjoyed reading these journals sounds like your have such a fantastic time. and as for the cats you can keep those as 3 is more than enough, i'm sure your mum will get you a cute little kitten on your return (NOT) Take Carexxxxxxxxx
26th May 2006

oooh!!
fantastic, fantastic! what a glorious life - palm trees, beatiful sealife, smelly cross-eyed cats! The whitsunday islands, you lucky girl, wave to Hamilton if you get the chance and tell them we miss them!! Have a fab time. Love you. M L Z M xxxx
27th May 2006

Drinky Drinky
Hey Lucy, thanks for leaving your key! I got the deposite back, so the drinks are on me when we get back to the UK! Have fun in the Whitsundays!!!

Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb