The journey of the east coast begins...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Townsville
May 20th 2006
Published: May 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I love to laugh...I love to laugh...I love to laugh...

ha ha ha ha...loud and long and clear...
My last night in Cairns was fantastic. I went to the Melbourne Comedy Festival Roadshow...reminded me how much I absolutely love stand up comedy. The following day I got up relatively early to make my way to the train station the other side of the city. Here I boarded the Sunlander which is a train that goes all the way down the east coast to Brisbane, although my ticket was for travel to Townsville...you know, on the map it only looks a small way down, but no...7 hours on the train! I was so glad the seats were comfy, and reclined a good way back. So yes, my journey consisted of sleeping, eating my packed lunch, sleeping, gazing out the window, listening to music, sleeping, and finishing my latest book Da Vinci Code...I couldn't put it down...although it doesn't beat Angels and Demons...

On arrival in Townsville, I realised that I didn't have any money on me, and the station was not near the city...I spent a while trying to find an ATM with no luck, I tried getting cash back off my card in a bottle shop but it wouldn't work...so there I was, in the sweltering heat with
View from Castle Hill...View from Castle Hill...View from Castle Hill...

Look at old maggie in the distant...the island awaits...
my big backpack, smaller front backpack and green food bag walking to the city...I stayed at a cute little hostel near The Strand...and by complete chance met with a girl who I'd been speaking to for ages in the UK who was also going to Australia...she was in the same dorm as me! So yes that was rather strange but great as we were going to try and meet up over here at somepoint anyway...Oh yes, and then I found out that I had $10 in my back pocket all along from my key deposit in Cairns...

I much prefer Townsville to Cairns...Cairns was just like one big travel agency, with brochures completely in your face...really tacky I found...Townsville is a bit smaller, has a really pleasant atmosphere and cute little market stalls on a sunday...where I purchased a handmade wooly hat for New Zealand...

A guy on my outback trip was from Townsville and had told me about this goat track which goes up Castle Hill...what he didn't tell me was how steep it was! I convinced a girl from my dorm to come with me and we were exhausted even before we arrived at the start of the track! We walked up some of it and turned back to view the city...this height and view was fine for me, and it was quite a grey day anyway...seeing Magnetic Island in the not so far distance was lovely though...that's my next stop...

Advertisement



25th May 2006

Comedy
A man goes into a police station and explains that his new car has just been stolen, the police man replies ''Alarmed, Sir''...man responds by saying ''Lets put it this way , i wernt very happy!'' A man goes into the bakers and asks for some brown bread, baker replies ''we only have whitebread''...man replies ''thats ok i have my bike outside'' My Sister Lucy smells soooooo bad at the moment that its a good job she is in OZ because if she was not i certainly would be!!...........Go clean your toe jam Knock knock...who's there....''its Lucy''..................knock knock...who's there ''its Lucy''.................knock knock.......GET THE HINT,GO AWAY YOU STINK LIKE RHINOCERUS PIZZLE!! Nice to hear from you sis, im off to take M and D to the airport, speak to you soon MMMWWWaaaahhhh xxxx PIB
25th May 2006

haha so lucy
aww u little goose, how funny! thats so you not looking properly.. did ure feet ache afting walking all the way back into town, im pretty sure that local markets are quite literally the best, i hope u are all fine and well o and did u see anyone in particular at the comedy festival? xx
25th May 2006

Hi my precious Lucy. Just recieved your journal at Stansted waiting to go to Manilu.As we left home the post arrived Just in time to pay your card It looks like youve got the hang of it now.Love you lots
25th May 2006

hey lucy!
This is where we are so different your walking up steep hills in australia and im sitting by a pool in Newyork!!!! Sounds like your are rally enjoying yourself though!!! have fun and take care, Your cous!
26th May 2006

Uncle Alan...
Ooo that would be great...i'll look forward to reading them when I get home!
26th May 2006

Blonde Moment
You really made us laugh on this journal lucy Why did'nt you have any money on you before you made this trip Lucy you must of realised that some of these places just about have a toilet let alone a ATM. no more Blonde moments Please even though they are very funny to read xxxx

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0821s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb