Magnetic Island and Townsville


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Magnetic Island
June 10th 2007
Published: June 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Good flight up to Townsville, as I Greyhounded the East Coast Last year I did not need to rack up all those road miles again, Townsville is on the old backpacking circuit the connection for the short ferry ride of 20mins to Magnetic Island, so it can be missed, but with a good selection of eateries (inc Tim's Surf and Turf for half a cow and chips) and an attractive beachfront looking out to Magnetic Island it's not a bad place to spend a night or two, I spent 3 of those meeting up with a friend from Melbourne, enjoying superb weather for sitting out enjoying jugs of cold beer.

Like many last year I rushed past Townsville and did not even know that Magnetic Island exisited, but am so glad that I took up several recommendations and took the ferry over for a 3 night stay, it's definately one of the best places you could visit on the East Coast, it is not party central, it's a relatively quiet place, but for me that was definately part of the attraction.

Once off the smart little cat ferry I hopped on the regular Magnetic Island bus service that runs between Horseshoe Bay and Picnic Bay all day and into the evening usefully enough. Noticed that of about 15 of us backpackers who got on the bus from the ferry terminal 14 except for me got off at Base Backpackers, whilst I was the only one going onto the independent Travellers Hideaway hostel in Picnic Bay, was pleased about this, would not chose to stay at Base, it's MacDonald's style backpacking, a lot of people seem to like it, but it's not my cup of tea.

The pleasures of Magnetic Island is to take things easy and go for little strolls at various viewpoints etc, and just taking the bus to various little places, I loved the tropical beach paradise that is Horseshoe Bay, the place is touristy in one corner, but walk to the other end and it's satisfyingly deserted.

At Travellers Hideaway I met possibly the world's oldest backpacker, from Huntley near Aberdeen, well into his 80s he served in World War 2 and had since leaving the forces 45 years ago pretty much been on the road ever since, and to think people say I've been on the road a long time.

Many people enjoy hiring a little Moke to get around the island, did not partake myself but was lucky enough to find nice people to drive me round in their's, mind you word of advice on Mokes, don't put your hands outside the vehicle, you could get your hand caught in the wheels, nasty!

So if you want a highly attractive slower paced and usually sunny escape from the high life of East Coast backpacking I'd highly recommend a few days on Magnetic Island.





Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb