Sydney and Blue Mountains


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Katoomba
June 4th 2007
Published: June 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

That's me out of Melbourne and officailly on the road again, for the last time, I think.

Saw out my time out with a few nice activities including a visit from former housemates. One top tip for Melbourne is that the Eureka Tower on the Southbank is now open to the punters. You get a fast lift for 16 dollars up to the 88th floor observation deck, and it's incredibily high, i belive that the tower is the world's tallest 'apartment only' building, at least I think it is. Magnificent sunset but one gripe, they have all these fancy lights inside that do rather blank out the appreciation of Melbourne at night.

One other activity to see out Melbourne apart from enjoying numerous amazing breakfast's in the cafes of Fitzroy and Collingwood was to go and see the Cirque de Soilel, a bit pricey but a very entertaining night of acrobatics, comedy and other weird stuff that was above my head but looked great. Basically an upmarket circus without animals but all the better for it, and these guys are probally the 'top end' of street performers, which is why you pay a fortune to see them.

Left my room for the last time escaping the grime, took the XPT train to Sydney, noticed that it's a modified version of the old Intercity 125's we had in Britain (oops revealed myself as a sad git trainspotter) was a bit long 12 hours but at least that way you're travelling centre to centre, booked myself into the soul-less but convienient Sydney Central YHA by the station. To be fair it's a good nights sleep, you don't hear much.

Done Sydney before but used my new camera that I did not have before so went around all the obvious stuff to take better pictures that I did before, ie bridge, opera house, botanic gardens etc etc, to be fair looks great at sunset so good to see it all again. Having said that Sydney may have the stunning harbour area but I still prefer the skyline of Melbourne when viewed from St Kilda Pier.

Spent all day sunday on a admittedly 'smash and grab' one day tour of the Blue Mountains, got the last seat on the Oz Experience day out in the mountains, was a very pleasant day out, luckily the bus was not loaded with pesky kids (ie the 18 year old kids banging on about how much they drink) When I get them up I'll let the photos do the talking, knew that one day does not do justice to the area but strapped for time it's not a bad intro. The 3 sisters (the usual front of brochure bit) look superb in the late afternoon sunlight, and the Scenic Railway is well a short but rather fun way to get back up the hill, I won't spoil the surprise for those that go but you have to love the music they put on for it.

Spotted a rare bird as well! no lads it's not a sexist comment, but a Lyre Bird scuttling in the woods, apparently it's special to see them as they don't get around much. Mind you it scuttled off before I could get a photo of it. To be honest being but a 2 hour drive from the centre of Sydney the Blue Mountains in a day is not getting away from it all but unlike myself in my last to visits to Sydney I think at least a day trip should be on the agenda, and if you don't want to do a trip then it's apparently dead easy on the train from Central Station.

Admitedly I think I really do prefer Melbourne to Sydney, but then it's not fair to say so because I actually lived and worked in Melbourne where as I've just done quick trips in to Sydney skimming the surface. One more day here then I'm moving on again. Recovering from a night in 'Durty Marys' a classic irish bar full of irish backpackers, but when in Rome.




Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Wagga WaggaWagga Wagga
Wagga Wagga

Just so you know I've been there, on the railway from Melbourne to Syndey


Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb