Maggie Island for X-mas


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Magnetic Island
December 24th 2006
Published: January 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Merry X-mas to you.
I arrived in Townsville and took the ferry boat to the Island. It takes about 25 minutes. Townsville is a rather quiet place... but Maggie is even more calm.

The Base Backpackers, the place where I stayed, is a very nice place at the waterfront. The employees are a little bit grumpy and gave me the impression that they just want my money. The kitchen has almost no dishes and no microwave... but enough with the critics.

The first second I steped in my dorm I felt at home. I met some funny people traveling with OZ Experience. Although I struggled to understand the scottish acsent of Dereck (especially his jokes :-), we enjoyed each others company. Thanx also to Sam,Chris, Has (alias MB), Gareth and Tamy.

At night there was usually plenty of loud music and beer... during the day I went snorkling with Jochen in Florence bay (or something like this... I keep forgetting the name) We also hiked a little bit. But in the meantime we sat or played in the pool. Hmmm that's where I caught a pretty nasty sunburn.

I can definitely recommend the Island at least for
Magnetic IslandMagnetic IslandMagnetic Island

On the way to Picnic bay we stoped on a small peak and took a look back towards our hostel.
a couple days.

Now I am heading south for Ayr. Near Ayr lies the wreck of the SS.Yongala.
The company I went with
The S.S. Yongala sank in 1911 with the loss of all aboard creating one of Australia’s most intriguing maritime mysteries as she lay undiscovered for more than half a century.
It was my first wreck dive but it was for sure very impressing to see a sunken piece of history.

Foot note to the Yongala trip :-) We had a pretty rough sea (waves were 1.5-2 m) and a small boat (10m rigid inflatable). Out of the 12 passengers and 3 crew members only the skipper, one dive instructor, another passenger and I were the only ones aboard not feeding the fish... how selfish... LOL


Stefan


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Ants building a very funny nest.Ants building a very funny nest.
Ants building a very funny nest.

They glue the leaves together.
Base BackpackerBase Backpacker
Base Backpacker

The place itself was lovely, and I met very nice people there. But the guys working there, just want your money. :-(


Tot: 0.501s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 24; qc: 92; dbt: 0.2757s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb