A short trip to paradise


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Whitsundays
December 31st 2006
Published: January 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Whitsundays Sailingtrip

This is the route of a 3 day and 2 nights Sailing trip around the Whitsundays.

Sailing with liquid sunshineSailing with liquid sunshineSailing with liquid sunshine

Thats they way it's ment to be :-)
Hey ho,
I know its been taking me a while since I've last updated my blog.
Whitehaven Beach was one of the whitest beaches I've ever been to. It's made of almost pure silica (SiO2). Unfortunately we are still in the stinger season and therefor had to wear the sexy stinger suites (ger.:Quallen).
Sitting in the crystal clear water I felt like in a huge bath tub. A bath tub with some wildlife... not just fishies but also nice stingrays (ger.:Stachelrochen). They swim right past your feet, but fly away as soon as I walked towards them.

We also made a stop over at Dumbell Island. In one of the bays lays a small but amazingly colourful reef. Fortunately it was low tide, so we could discover the full colours of the corals. The deeper you dive the more colours are absorbed. I snorkeled in between so many fishies... simply unbelievable. I saw coral eating Parrot fishs and some Maori Wrasses.

Las but not least the boat:
Apollo is an 80 feet Maxi Yacht designed by Ben Lexen, who also designed the Australia II, winner of the Americas Cup 1983.
Apollo was built in 1978
LOA : 24.38 m
Draft : 4.26 m
Mast : 31.08 m
Beam : 3.96 m
Mainsail : 224 m2
3 crew members and up to 23 passengers

So far happy new year


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Our Chef Hugh alias Jamie O.Our Chef Hugh alias Jamie O.
Our Chef Hugh alias Jamie O.

He is a funny I guy... I wil vote for Pedro
Andrew our staff captainAndrew our staff captain
Andrew our staff captain

He's a little bit shy.


Tot: 0.303s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 25; qc: 94; dbt: 0.0875s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb