Onto the Fraser Coast


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Hervey Bay
June 10th 2008
Published: June 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to Hervey Bay!!

But first ... i'll fill you all in on what Richard has been up to since his last post.

The weather on the Sunshine Coast decided to clear up as the week went on, and so I decided to stay on at Alexandra Headland (near Mooloolaba) for a few more days. I enjoyed sitting in the sun on Mooloolaba Beach reading the Joanne Lees story - in all honesty, this is a great read! If you enjoy a good crime story (abeit a true one!), I would definately recommend this book. I finished it in all of two dayd. I could not put it down!

I visited Eumundi markets again on Saturday - yes Darryl, they are not far from Noosa. Who would I happen to run into at the markets but Mike Allsop!! I had arranged to catch up with him for lunch on Sunday in any case, but was a surprise to see him none-the-less (although I think that he and Heather were even more surprised when a strange walked up and gave Mike a friendly push in the arm :-) )

As I eluded to above, I met Mike for lunch on Sunday - Cafe del Monde was Mikes suggestion .... of course it was closed for renovation (apparently Mike does not get out much :-) ), so we took his wifes suggestion and headed down to the waterfront - well what is left of the waterfront after the storms had ravaged Noosa Beach! Thank God for the rock wall which stopped the erosion before it hit the shops!

I headed out of the not-so-Sushine Coast on Monday morning (yes ... rain again!), and planned to hit Hervey Bay for a few days. I drove via Rainbow Beach and Inskip Point (where the southern most ferry to Fraser Island departs). The long way I know .... but whats the hurry? The weather driving north was atrocious again, so booked into an on-site caravan for a few nights in Hervey Bay - the same van park I stayed in almost 5 years ago when I took my last sabbatical. Beats the Thunderbox, and is actually quite well equipped. No ensuite - so its a case of use the park amenities - but its all good!! I am planning to hit Fraser Island most likely on Thursday for a few nights (depending on weather). The Thunderbox will definately get a workout there.

This morning went for a walk along the Hervey Bay waterfront, and along the Urangan Pier (868m long). Was a gorgeous morning and I am guessing I walked about 13 - 14 kms. Was buggered by the time I got back to my van, but was a good morning. Have attached some pics for your enjoyment. Keep those messages and emails coming. Hope all are well.

Footnote : State of Origin tomorrow night ... and I am in enemy territory!! Go the Blues!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Mums Favourite PlaceMums Favourite Place
Mums Favourite Place

I sat down on a chair by the waterfront and noticed that the chair had plaque on it reading "Mums Favourite Place - Dorothy Sheil 1912 - 2005". I can certainly understand why ....


10th June 2008

Lunch with Mike
Did you and Mike have fun at Hooters- oops sorry I mean the waterfront. My mistake....

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb