Leaving Airlie beach


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Hervey Bay
May 4th 2007
Published: May 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey Everyone,

I have now left Airlie beach. A few days before we left Me and Vicky (who im sort of traving with now 😊 ) Anyway we got up early and got picked up. As we got on the boat I had a feeling this wasnt going to be the best boat thing ive done so far. It was small and not too good looking (the boat that is. As we left we got taken to the whitsundays. These are amazing beaches. miles and miles of silca sand (it doesnt heat up) and cristal clear blue sea goign on for miles. the sand is famouse for cleaning jewely and expholiating skin! we had a game of piggy in the middle wooo and a quick dose on the beach and a swim then we were off agian. we had an alrightish lunch (but the stupid drinks of water wasnt free so i was rather dehydrated. we then stopped to go snorkaling where we had to put on the most unflattering stinner suits we looked like the thunderbirds. and my flippers were bent. anyway the coral we were snorking around wansnt impressive compared to cains. it was really shallow so it was so hard not to touch it as it hurts the coral and so you couldnt relax and look at the fish. i got stuck in a shallow bit and got in a horrid panic as it is rather creepy stuff and it does hurt if you do touch it. its not nice having a panic attack with noone near by surrouned by creapy dauniging horrrid stinning coral where you cant stand up and a mask filling up with water. I finnally got to the beach and had to calm down a bit before working out a deeper route back to the boat. some people were feeding the fish in a dingy near me. it was awesome to get them swimming around you and even lye in your hands. I took some underwater photos we shall have to wait and see how they turn out. any way we got back and i was very highly unimpressed by this tour. although they did have free cake, which i promly helped myself to 7 pieces of (hahah) and i told the person next to me that I was making up for the lack of free water which I thought was appaluing. The person turned out to be a very amused captin or the boat and whole comapany. opps. oh well nothing works better than saying it to the boss.

later that night we went to an AWESOME party. we went to a club which was having a foam party. Ive never been in anything soo cool. It was crazy the foam went over your heads and it was manic. foam went even into the toilets. we left at like 5 am and went for a midnight swim in the lagoon. the lagoon is a beauiful vast outdoor pool where everyone goes and chills and its free. so we all went swimming their at like 5am. well it got allthe foam off. The next everning after doing a day of nothing we went to every club in the town. go me. haha.

The next day I was up at 5 30 to catch our bus to the next place. this was going to be a longggg trip. 9 hours stuck in a little seat. well me being me promply spread out on my seat and across the poor person next to me. I was dead comfy after that. I read almost a whole book on that journy. Our bus stopped for a bit and we all went to the granny club and played bowls!!! it was rather surreal but actually good fun. for like 10 minuits. then it get a tad boring.

we arrived at our destination in the everning. we were horrified when the bus driver told us that it was 40 dollars for a bed and food. I felt very ripped off as this place was just an old horse ranch. if it was chkeaper i would have been so happy. everyone was very discuntaled but I actually really like it theri. it was jkust up my street. although the beds wobbled so much we were worried of them collapsing. they moved about a foot when you shook them! we had supper which was ok then got to play with the whips which they use to round up the cattle. I was quite good at that. then later we had a compertition between the south bound and north bound busses on the mercnical bucking bull rodio. most people stayed on for about 4 bucks before being buciked off, flying in crazy postions. Me being me instantly felt rather competitve. And... went on to win the compertinoing gettting the highest out of EVERYONE. .... 31 bucks I stayed on for. And when I came off my hand was a dead wreak. HAHA BUT I WON!!!. I was so rude about everyone if it looked like they would beat me. the cloeset anyone else came was a boy from the north bound who got 23. go me oh yeah! I think ive found a new profession. it was rather good fun and I shall challenegte anyone back home to beat me.! (how big headed am I?!) anyway everyone went to bed. I stayed up on a total adreianin high for a few more hours playing crazy games with the Irish people. it was good fun.

I had to be up at 6 30 as I was helping the ranch round up the goats. If you have ever played zelda , then it is like the hrose ranch on that where you have to go ona horse and shout a bit and ride around chassing goats. It was good fun. we went out onto the open land and they let me do most the work as the other people coulndt actually ride horses. It in voled a lot of twisting the horse and chasing stray goats and shouting. I really enjoyed the yelling at the goats in the middle of nowhere. It was awesom,e.I would make a great cow girl. we then got to do a goat rodio game which was fun. it ment that you got in teams of three. one was a catcher one a (pretnetd) brander andone a flip the goat overer. you got put in a ring with the goat. you then had to chase it, I flippiped it by two legs and then pretend to brand it for 3 seconds. It was all timeed and you got bad points if you grabbed it in the wrong place. we did ok. one group had a goat whihch just didnt run away. I spent a good 20 mins just cuddling that and gettting coveredin goat grime. oh and their was a little snake. it was someones pet but it curled around my necklase and fell asleep on me for hours. I really want a pet snake. python. their lovely. anyway we then had to get the bus, all of us grimy and horsy and headed off.

A long bus ride later and we ended up in Hervey bay. I by this mood was feeling rather exhausted and not in the best of moods. Anyone who knows me well will know I dont work if im tired and hungry. which I was. Vicky and I decieded to go on a wander to find the supermarket. This place is dead weird. IT was a treak away and all the houses are like florida houses. creapy and weird. you could imagine a clown poking its head out of it. we were well and truly freaked out by the time we got to the mega super market. but we cheared up when we saw how big the shop was. we love supermarkets and were in bliss after small corner shops for the last few days. it was great. we borghtt lots of usless food that we really didnt need. we then headedback (creappy) and had a big picnic on our floor of our dorm. The people we are sharing with are a tad weird and we wernt too happy in that room. but we made a big mess with our food and clothes scattered around us and were happy. we went for a walk and by the time we got back they were asleeop. we stil havnte tiedyed up the room even though the people have left now. our room is a tip. if you have ever seen my room, times that by 3. we are quite proud of how messky it has becomein less than 20 hours. 😊 it now feels homly. I just hope noone has moved in their by the time we get back hahah they will not be happy. it was so messy the cleaner decided it was impossiltbly and pointles to clean until we left. we were happy about that. Ive got fed up of being tidy and not spreading my stuff as far as possible. anyway ive almost finished my 7th book. Thats all for now. Were going to the beach and cinema later as we cant be bothered to do anything today.

Hope everones ok

Love from Katharine xxxxxxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb