Fraser Island - Hervey Bay


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Hervey Bay
April 13th 2007
Published: April 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Awoken at day break by the smell of baked beans and leftover sausages being cooked (By Polly and Becky.) Not feeling great due to Goon poisoning and having to sleep on the incredibly hard and bumpy ground.

Packed everything up and drove to Lake Mckenzie. Somehow ended up in the back again (witth polly driving) and really didnt enjoy it here. Ever bump was torture and all our supplies kept falling on me, probably due to polly driving too quickley.

Reached Lake Mckenzie mid morning. This Lake is incredibly beautiful (looks almost tropical in appearance.) as its almost completely clear and sky blue in colour.

No one else seemed to want to go for a swim, partly because it was believed to be quite cold, so I went on my own and discovered it was fine.

Sunbathed for a while before heading back to the 4x4. Needed to head back as the ferrie was due to depart at 2:00.

Myself, Evan, Codey, Olly B and Stephan were the first to get back to the 4x4 and it was desided as a change that we should drive for once (sober ones that is which amounted to only me, Evan and B) and that way the others can experience some of the discomfort one experiences in the back when driving on this terrain.

Evan drove first and I was fortunatly sat in the front as he didnt hold back. Essentially he/we wanted revenge for what the others had put us through when they were driving. The groans of discomfort in the back were highly amusing esspecially followed by the odd yelp of "the speed limit is supposed to be 30, Evan!!" (apart from
simon who seemed to enjoy it.). There were a couple of occastions when even I was scared. At one point I acctually thought we were about to roll the damn thing, which isnt uncomman as apparently there is on average one roll a month.

Next was my turn to drive and boy it was fun. My section wasnt as bumpy so when a bump did come along I would floor it. On the last one of these I knew I had to strat taking it easy as I hit the bump so hard everyones heads in the back hit the underside of the Landcruisers roof.

Once at Central Station I washed up the dishs and pots and pans. Then we made our way to the ferry pick up point.

We reached the Hostel at 4:30 and got the all clear from the mechanic.

Took a shower in which the entire contents of the gobi desert seemed to fall off my body.

After some internet time we all met up and some of us went for a Sub way diner.

Everyone was quite tired and some were taking a night bus up to Airlie Beach so I went to bed at a reasonable hour.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb