Long Island Resort, kind of.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Hamilton Island
July 13th 2009
Published: July 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Harbor BridgeHarbor BridgeHarbor Bridge

at night, with no flash.
9:07PM, the 'resort'

Saturday night we had our dinner cruise. We all got dressed up and walked down to Darling Harbor and waited for our boat. It was very snazzy. We had the whole upper level to ourselves, and as soon as we sat down we were served Champaign. Almost right away we were able to go out on the deck to take pictures of the bridge and of the Opera House. However, since it was pitch dark outside, a lot of my pictures did not come out. After coming back into the warm boat, we were served bread. I asked the lady if they had gluten free bread, and she said she would check. I guess the bread everyone else got to eat was not good at all. The lady came back with a plate of four rolls for me, and they were delicious.

Dinner consisted of salmon or eggplant. Delicious, right? Wrong. I’m told that there was some woman singing and playing piano on the boat, but I thought it was a man. Either way, it was an awkward set of music. After maybe two hours we were back in Darling Harbor [even though I thought we
Opera HouseOpera HouseOpera House

also at night, with no flash..
just made circles in the harbor and never actually went anywhere].

After dinner, Rohit, Jackie, Matt, Ken, and I went to the bars. The first was Scruffy Murphy’s. They had a live band playing what other than 90s American music. People were dancing to it, or standing near the walls watching the football/rugby games. We decided to go downstairs to the “Vault Club” or something. There was techno music and disco lights and the wall, floor, and ceiling were all black. There was a grand total of maybe 10-15 people down there. We sat on these like bubbly chairs, but didn’t stay long.

We tried walking around to find this bar that the guys went to the night before, but they couldn’t remember where it was. So we asked a blind guy and his two friends. They told us of a bar about 15 minutes away that was “hoppin” so we took off. When we got there, it was closed. There were three people sitting on a stoop nearby, and this woman goes “Hey, hey you! You look GORGEOUS! Your top is fabulous! You got to work it, girl! Cut off your jeans and wear leggings, and you’d
NapkinsNapkinsNapkins

...that they folded while we were up top
look HOT! I would do you in a minute!” P.s. this was all directed at me.

We walked back to the world tower, but it was still fairly early, so some of us went to the Cheers bar. Mom and dad, that was for you!

Sunday for our flight I sat with a family of 3 young boys. Worst. Experience. EVER. They had me get up at least five times so they could change up the order of who was sitting next to who and whatnot. I only had about 20 minutes of the flight with peace and quiet, and I couldn’t sleep then because I was worried they would want to change the seating again.

Once we arrived in paradise, we took a ferry to our island resort. The whole way there, there were islands everywhere we looked. When we docked on Long Island, our resort looked secluded and amazing. I don’t really have any pictures of it, but that’s ok. The resort turned out to be not so nice. The rooms were small and smelled like mold; the food was very, very questionable , and the staff was pretty shady, like
DessertDessertDessert

My dessert was better than the chocolate cake everyone else got.
the bartender with the busted lip.

That night there was trivia, hosted by Brett (whose pants were falling down). Each round won a bottle of wine, but my table just couldn’t win. I think you had to have Aussies and Americans at your table to win. How else would you know what a group of jellyfish is called? It’s a bloom, by the way.

Anyway, today one of the girls and I just laid out on the beach. I don’t know if I mentioned before, but the sun here can burn you in 12 minutes. Needless to say I kept reapplying, so I’m not as tan as I could be. The rest of the day consisted of the same activity, but in different locations. When the sun started to go down, Megan, Matt, Dan and I grabbed kayaks and went out for a spin.

Tonight Brett hosted bingo. When he asked “do I have any serious bingo players out there?”, he must not have seen my hand. He is the worst bingo caller known to man. He would talk to somebody, and then throw in a number. And his accent is really thick to boot. I left
Jackie and I at Scruffy Murphy'sJackie and I at Scruffy Murphy'sJackie and I at Scruffy Murphy's

This is in the Vault Club on the bubble chairs
within 15 minutes because it was so frustrating.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Welcome to Paradise!Welcome to Paradise!
Welcome to Paradise!

Otherwise known as Hamilton Island.


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb