In the rainforest


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cape Tribulation
June 21st 2009
Published: July 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I took an amazing day trip up to the Daintree Rainforest and Cape Tribulation.

I woke up at 7am, got picked up at 7:30 and was gone until 7pm. It was a long day, but completely amazing. It was the first rainforest I’d ever been to.

The guide was a nice girl who actually grew up in Cape Tribulation, so she knew a lot about it. I was bombarded with a ton of information all day, most of which I can’t really remember, but the scenery was amazing and I took almost 200 pictures.

We started the trip with a walk through a small national park part of the rainforest where you could see small waterfalls and go swimming. I didn’t go in the water because it was still 9am in the morning, but it looked great anyways.

After that we stopped at a wildlife preserve where I saw some wallabies, a red kangaroo, a bunch of crocodiles and a ton of birds. One bird especially was super crazy. It was a relative of an emu, but looked super weird. I wish could remember what it was called, but I can’t. Also, I decided that I need to get a pet wallaby. They’re really just mini-kangaroos and they’re super adorable.

Next we took a drive up to Cape Tribulation. It’s a crazy winding road that the tour guide took at about 80km. Once we crossed the Daintree River and were in Cape Tribulation we took another walk through a park area that had some of the craziest trees I’d ever seen. It was really weird because a lot of trees have strange mechanisms where they try to use other trees to climb up to the top of the canopy to get some sunlight.

Our next stop was lunch on a gorgeous beach. We ate in a picnic area and then wandered around the beach for a while.

After that we had a bit of another drive to a crocodile spotting boat cruise. Unfortunately we only saw one wild croc on the cruise. We saw a bunch of small snakes, but not a lot of crocs. It was fun nonetheless.

That was pretty much the day. We had an hour and a half ride back into town where we stopped at a couple of look-out points to the ocean and I got back to my hostel around 7pm.

I needed a nap badly after that 12 hour day, and then I went out partying again.

I know there’s not a lot of info in this post about the trip, but just look at the pictures, they can pretty much speak for themselves.



Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb