Up In Cairns


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
June 21st 2009
Published: June 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Right now I’m up Cairns.

I had to wake up at 5am on Thursday morning so I could check out of my hostel, grab a train and catch my 7am fight up here.

The flight up here wasn’t too bad. It’s about a 3 hour flight, so I just took a nap most of the way, which worked out well since I took a discount airline that didn’t show a movie.

Anyways, landing in Cairns was a completely different experience than I thought it would be. Sydney was a giant city, just like any other city in the world, except people here have Australian accents. Looking out the window as I landed in the Cairns airport though looked more like landing on a tropical island. All you could see was giant hills of lush green in the distance and the airport had this very old school quality about it.

From there I took a cheap shuttle bus over to Gilligan’s, the hostel I’m currently at. I got to the hostel around 11am, but official check in for them isn’t until 2pm. I wound up just wandering around the city for a couple hours while I waited to get my room key. They held on to my bag for me at reception, but all I wanted to do was change because the weather up here was warm and very humid and I was wearing jeans, full shoes and a hoodie because it was cold in Sydney when I left.

The weather up in Cairns wasn’t so nice when I arrived, but it wasn’t bad. It was warm and humid but the entire sky was covered in clouds (that’s why a bunch of my pics from here look kind of grey). I walked around anyways to kill the 3 hours. First, I walked the wrong direction and wound up at a shopping mall. I grabbed some lunch in there and then found my way out to the Cairns lagoon. It’s a beautiful piece of grassy property that goes along the ocean in the main area of town. I just sort of wandered that area for a bit until I was able to go back to my hostel and get into my room. I changed into shorts and then went back to the lagoon since I had nothing better to do.

Later in the afternoon I came back to my room and met most of the other people that were living in there. A couple Swedish people, an Irish couple, an English girl, and a guy from Edmonton. The first Canadian I had met on the trip! All of them were nice people and we hung out and went to the club in the hostel that night.

The next day I woke up and it was still cloudy, so I decided it would be a perfect time to go the travel agent and book some things to do and my way back down to Sydney. I spent about 2 hours in the place but now have a full calendar that pretty much takes me all the way until a few days before I have to show up at school for an orientation day. I booked a sailing trip, a camping trip, a canoe trip and some surf lessons all down the east coast with a couple days (but not many) to do some chilling and/or other things. By the time that was done the sun had come out, so I went back to the lagoon to just lie in the sun with some people.

Yesterday I
sister citiessister citiessister cities

Cairns has like 15 sister cities
took a day trip up into the rainforest, but I’m going to put that in a separate post since I took way too many pictures there.

That pretty much brings me up to now. I just had to check out of my hostel at 10am, but the bus I’m catching to my next destination, Airlie Beach, doesn’t leave until midnight, so I’m going to run a couple of errands soon and then go back to the lagoon for a few hours. Thankfully I made friends with the people in my room so they’re letting me keep my stuff in there so I can go back and change and shower later.



Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

sister citiessister cities
sister cities

one of them in BC
Gilligan'sGilligan's
Gilligan's

my hostel in Cairns
sister citiessister cities
sister cities

Cairns has like 15 sister cities
sister citiessister cities
sister cities

one of them in BC
Gilligan'sGilligan's
Gilligan's

my hostel in Cairns


Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.056s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb