The promised land...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
August 25th 2014
Published: August 25th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Alright, what to update you on now...

So after Airlie Beach (last entry) I sailed over to Magnetic Island for 2 nights - it was pretty cool, lots of walking tracks, a few beaches, some nice photos etc. I think it might have been more fun if I wasn't travelling alone though, as there were lots of unlit paths and dangerous bush walks etc. I did a mammoth one from the cliffs down to the beaches but the first beach was inaccessible and the path was all swampy... so then I had to go another 30mins to the next beach. When I got there I wanted to snorkel and it took me quite a long time to work up the courage to wade out into the ocean alone and give it a go, but once I did a few other people appeared and joined in so that was cool. I saw a blue spotted manta ray which was cool, and cut my hand on some coral so I might have a Great Barrier Reef scar - yay! Anyhoo, then I carried on the walk to do a round route back to my hostel but unfortunately about 20mins further along all the signs disappeared and the track just ended in the bush! I walked through for about 5mins then realised I could get completely lost (not to mention bitten by a snake - not joking, I saw a Death Adder on the path the day before, I have a photo to prove it to you!) so I turned back!!! Which meant a massive trek uphill which I did not enjoy, especially as I had to rush so that I didn't miss the bus - I made it in 40mins flat and was exhausted by the end! Also tried to do a koala trek the day before, but the path was unmarked and unlit (this is where I saw the Adder) and I realised the sun was going to set as I was halfway up, so I had to turn back and bail out!

I was staying in a wildlife sanctuary on the island, so I had a guided tour where I got to hold a snake, lots of lizards, a cockatoo, and the all important koala! She was called Pebbles and was so cute and I got a free photo of me holding her - very sweet! The wildlife was all around us too, including something loud and scratchy in the walls of my hut - it was RIGHT next to my head and in the middle of the night it would run and jump (presumably into its hole) then scratch like mad at the walls - the first night it didn't bother me so much as I was tired, but the second night I had a vision of it breaking through and landing on my face, so I switched ends!

After Maggie Island, I caught the ferry back to the mainland and hopped on a bus to Cairns - my most Northern point and final stop (except Brisbane where I fly out of!). Arrived on Saturday here, my hostel is cool, it's called Dreamtime and is really laid back. There's a big courtyard, a pool, free internet and free tea and coffee (my favourite thing in hostels now!). I've walked around the town, been to the cathedral and the 'beach' (man-made), done the shops and the markets (cool night market with lots of chinese and thai food stalls) and today I went up to Kuranda, a mountain village with some markets etc. To get to Kuranda you have to take a 90mins cable car ride which skirts over the top of the rainforest, so you get some amazing views, and then to get back, there's an awesome old train that runs along the edge of the mountains and also has some amazing views! All very exciting as long as you aren't scared of heights :o)

Tomorrow I'm going to the Tablelands on a tour - it should be a chance to jump in/off/under lots of waterfalls and rockpools, and see some wildlife - maybe even the rare platypus! Then I haven't planned Weds yet, but I'm catching a flight to Brisbane in the afternoon, where I'm staying two nights before flying back to Heathrow! I can't believe it's nearly the end of my trip - it feels like it's gone so fast, and also like I've been away for aaages! Think I've just about finished buying my gifts now, just in time! I should be able to get another short blog in somewhere...maybe even during my 5 hour wait in Bangkok, so look out for that one! Otherwise I'll see you all rather soon :o)

I'm going to get a free tea (super excited) and find a hostel for Brisbane now... bye!

xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb