Queensland Motorcycle Trip


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
August 31st 2015
Published: August 18th 2014
Edit Blog Post

There was a point in time where the only vehicle I drove was my car. However, that changed when I heard from a friend who was telling me about his road trip on a motorcycle. I liked the idea of taking a motorcycle to an annual get together I have with my friends in Cairns, so I immediately took my learner test so that I could ride one.

During my studies to get the permit, I learned that I needed a learner approved motorcycle if I wanted to drive one on the road. A friend recommended Brisbane Motorcycles as an excellent store where I could get a bike that would give me an amazing ride as well as meet the standards required for a learner permit. It was a hoot driving the bike back home from Brisbane Motorcycles.

Two weeks later, I began my journey. Although I was a bit fearful of the long ride, I found myself enjoying every moment. I loved to feel the wind that was constantly surrounding me. I was glad that the motorcycle did quick acceleration when I needed to pass a truck or car. Although I did not have any narrow escapes, I did get a thrill passing businessmen who rode stuffy vehicles while wearing a full suit. I could be wrong, but I thought several of them gave me envious glances.

I purposely chose to take the road that was close to the Coral Sea. The sea air invigorates me. It was nice to stop by a couple of beaches to take a brief break. When I stopped for lunch at a diner in Gladstone, one of the locals admired my motorcycle. He told me of his bike and added that I chose a great time of the year to ride.

By the time I got to Mackay, I was tired. I still felt that I was in good condition, but I fell asleep after I hit the bed. I was up early the next morning. As I headed out on National Highway A1, I met another biker going the same direction. Although we did not talk, we had a mutual respect. We wound up taking the same road for a few hours before he finally pulled off. I had some children wave to me from a passing vehicle, and it felt nice to give an approving nod.

When I got to Cairns that evening, I impressed my friends with the motorcycle and that I had made it all the way without any problems. It was a fun weekend, but I was happy to go home on my special bike. I hope to take it next year when we meet back in Cairns.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0217s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb