Brisbane Wedding Experience


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane » Spring Hill
August 21st 2015
Published: September 18th 2014
Edit Blog Post

In general I’m not one for weddings which involve international travel. In this case, I had to make an exception for two reasons- the first being the groom, the second being the location. I had met both the bride and groom about five years prior, while participating in an exchange program through my university. I had not returned to Australia since, so when the invitation came I quickly booked the twenty-four hour plus trip to Brisbane.

The capitol of Queensland, the eastern coastal city of Brisbane is named for the Brisbane river which runs through it. The most populated city in Queensland, it is also the third largest city in Australia, though often overshadowed by Sydney and Melbourne, whose residents refer to Brisbane as ‘sleepy country town’ or a ‘poor cousin’ to the larger cities and tourist destinations. Sleepy though, is not the word I would use to describe my experience there.

After the tedium of fetching my checked baggage, and breathing a sigh of relief that my wedding attire was seemingly intact, I headed for the airport exit. The warm, subtropical air was absolutely invigorating after the absolutely endless journey from the US, and immediately I knew I was in for a proper re-introduction to the country I had so dearly missed. Flying to Australia from the states is no small thing, and anybody who has done it knows it’s worth the upgrade to first class for so long a journey. Look for cost savings elsewhere, and treat the plane as your first destination- pack food and comfort items accordingly.

The wedding was held at an absolutely stunning coastal venue looking out onto Raby Bay, North Stradbroke Island in the distance. The garden where the ceremony took place was appropriately understated, beautifully designed and appointed, but not overdone as to distract from the blue vista of the ocean. The ceremony was brief, as most of the crowd were true Aussies, anxious to begin carrying on in the reception area. You couldn’t call Brisbane sleepy if they happens to be an Aussie wedding happening anywhere within one hundred miles. The wedding videographer himself was goaded into a few celebratory drinks, which I imagine is largely why the video came out so well. Once the sun set and the drinks were flowing, people seemed to forget the camera altogether, making for some lovely candid sequences in the finished product.

When the reception was over the wedding party left the coastal retreat and headed into town for to a few local spots favored by the bride, a born and raised Brisbanite. Getting around was easy and everybody was friendly, from the taxi drivers to the bartenders, to the hotel bellman and the maid. I can’t imagine Sydney could ever compete with Brisbane if in the company of locals. Perhaps it caters less to tourists, but in doing so, welcomes you as a guest rather than just a sight-seer. If I ever marry, it just may be a destination wedding.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb