Say G'day to Bruce.......Bruce


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
May 6th 2006
Published: May 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Home for nowHome for nowHome for now

The balcony is pretty cool eating brekky in the morning
I have been in Cairns now for a little over five days now, not much has happened on the job front at the moment but I have been a lot more eager than I anticipated I would be. I have been knocking on all the dive shops, handing in my CV and they have all been polite and taken it whether they wanted to or not. I am also expecting a call over the next couple of days from a dive shop in Magnetic Island so hopefully that is a good call and not one to tell me they have filled the position with someone else.

Cairns is not what I expected I thought there would be a beach here but alas there is not so no snorkelling or lazing around on the beach, There is a big man made pool on the waterfront which is pretty nice to swim in. The town is very easily laid out with all the roads running parallel to the water with hardly a bend in a road in site it reminds me of looking at US towns in sleepy communities.
Lots and lots of people doing there open water here, every other person I speak to is a diver or in the process of becoming one it seems, which is pretty cool. On Tuesday night I met up with Jim and Laurie which was really nice so good to see a friendly face especially Jim and Laurie. Wish you the best mate on your travels and thanks a million for lunch and the wine in such opulent surroundings.

Today I went to Fitzroy Island which is a 45 minute boat ride from Cairns I knew I could go snorkelling here so I was looking forward to this, it cost me $40 for the ferry ride so it was not really that cheap a journey. The coral and the fish what I saw there was brilliant though, The coral is immaculate and this is to be expected seeing as the island is a national park so its all protected not like some places. The marine life is everywhere and I saw more fish and life today than I have seen previously anywhere else. I cannot wait to dive the reef itself.

I did have to do another Dive Medical which is a AS2299 so anyone thinking of teaching here you must have it and you also need to be a DAN O2 provider so get in done at Mermaids where its cheaper, nothing apart from lazing around has been done here has really happened here most days have melted away nicely with me doing very little but I have met some nice people and Rodders I met some people from your neck of the woods, and I mean Byers Road!!, They were also fond of Blanket and Curlers.

All the best everyone and don’t work too hard





Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The PoolThe Pool
The Pool

or the Lagoon if you are posh
The Harbour The Harbour
The Harbour

There's Croc's in there mate
Fitzroy IslandFitzroy Island
Fitzroy Island

All to myself


6th May 2006

green with envy
g'day reading your blog as taken me back to oz, enjoy your self,lookforward to your blogs. will try not to work to hard.
9th May 2006

Memories!!
Hello mate, nice to hear ur having a wicked time!! Nice pics,bringing back loads of memories! they were still building the Lagoon when i was in cairns seems so long ago now. Next sat night uv got free, check out the "Ultimate Party" i used to work for them its a wicked night out! enjoying the blogs keep em comin. take care.

Tot: 0.402s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0777s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb