Great barrier reef and Cairns


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
November 10th 2010
Published: November 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I flew to Cairns! The flight was good... I spent the afternoon touring around the city of Cairns. Not a huge city, but I liked what I saw. There is no beach (just muck when the tide goes out) but there is lots of neat crabs and birds poking around in it. They also have this giant free outdoor pool right next to the water so it FEELS like you are swimming in the ocean. The pool was really nice. Especially because its BOILING here! Its now 7:30 at night but I'm still sitting here sweating.

Today I went on a full day trip to the great barrier reef. It was pretty neat! Saw a giant sea turtle on the boat ride out. Then saw tons of cool fish during the snorkle time. Saw some small sting rays, blue starfish and jellyfish as well. And then near the end of the day I saw a SHARK! It swam by about 2 m away. Aparently it was just a reef shark which the guide said are not dangerous or anything. It was really cool! I took a picture of it with my underwater camera which I hope turns out.

Tomorrow my Contiki tour starts!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



11th November 2010

woooooowwww
OMG Christy! This sounds and looks so amazing!!! I wish I could be there with you :) Do you feel like you want to move to Australia now??? I guess it's just a matter of time lol! Miss you!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb