2 Days in Cairns- Not a day less will do


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
June 7th 2008
Published: July 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Aerial CairnsAerial CairnsAerial Cairns

Where heaven meets the earth
I arrived in beaultiful sunny cairns on 05 june 08 after traveling a little under an entire day.

cars, planes, buses and boats
whatever it takes to get where your going



Having gotten to sydney after a 13.5 hour flight, I'm again sitting in an airport surrounded by white-washed cynderblock walls and darkened cloudy windows. All I want to do is breathe fresh air, and maybe have an edible meal.

The next three hour flight to the Cairns orientation was hectic. The plane got delayed, the weather was bad and in turn so was the turbulence, at the time I thought my ears had never popped so badly.

As we crept towards our first destination the clouds lessened from the prying sun. As we came upon the shoreline to the heart of cairns the mountains fell from view and instead I found myself staring at the darkened spots in the pacific ocean that were without a doubt the great barrier reef (GBR).

Before long I was taking anti-seasick "pingers" and setting sail out of Cairns and into the cerulean blue sea. I was going to scuba the GBR and nothing could be cooler. To bad the experience was slightly terrifying. =)

The Negatives:
• They didn't put enough weight on me so I was 'a floater' and had lots of trouble staying with the group
• I have so much hair my goggles kept moving around
• I breathed so much (you might call it hyperventilating) I gave myself a splitting oxygen headache
• I got out of the water

The Positives:
• I GOT BACK IN THE WATER!! (an accomplishment in itself)
• I've never seen anything so beautiful in my entire life (I'd be surprised if even an artist could capture the colours I saw)
• The whole place was alive with movements and I got to be part of that
• After it was done, I'd say I'd probably do it again
• And come on- I scuba's one of the Seven Wonders of the World! sweet

What I miss most about Cairns is the never-ending sunny weather, always friendly people, the mixing pot of people that encompassed it, and laughing at what the locals were wearing.

There will be pictures to follow, as soon as I can figure it out. . . .





Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Pure 80'sPure 80's
Pure 80's

Where did they find these and why are they in public?
Gilligans 302Gilligans 302
Gilligans 302

Roommates for a day (or two)
learn yourselflearn yourself
learn yourself

before you judge someone else
SydneysidersSydneysiders
Sydneysiders

No Worries
one day longone day long
one day long

one beau beach
diamond motivationdiamond motivation
diamond motivation

i wouldn't have dove the GBR if it wasn't for this lady
quit clownin aroundquit clownin around
quit clownin around

Its nemo... and his dad too!
silence follows yousilence follows you
silence follows you

when your underwater
day's endday's end
day's end

Then I rest my head at night


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb