Rosebery Glasses


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Rosebery
June 10th 2008
Published: July 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Runnin' a Sushi Train 25 secs
City in my sightsCity in my sightsCity in my sights

Home to be: Sydney
Well I made it, New South Wales- Home in Australia at long last!!

This Home is foreign to me, and
I'm finding work is, for once, Intriguing



Four flights in the past week, and 3 time changes have left me exausted. Nevermind how horrible my ears feel from overexposure to underwater and cabin pressure. Although I'm tired I'm excited to make it to my home for the next 10 weeks. I'm also axious to meet my rent-a-family and probono employers.

The living situation is luxurious but seems to have a business arrangement feel. I'm living with a couple, both their second marriage and an 8 year old Mia. I also have two roommates, both from Columbia and here to learn english. It's fun because I can speak with them in spanish and we facilitate learning on both ends.

I'm lucky enough to have a large closet and separate bath but for the first few weeks am sleeping on a kids twin size pullout sofa. Not fun at all, especially with a bar in my back, I'm assuming because I exceed a child's weight limit. haha.


Well working here is nothing like home. Immediatley I am
Lawless LawsLawless LawsLawless Laws

Livin by their rules now
simultaneously handed responsibility and autonomy within the workforce. Something I find surprising considering the projects I'm assigned arn't like anything I'm accustomed to- writing, reviewing and editing content for a variety of news releases. Pretty cool in my book though.

The way things are done around here is procrastinate, feel free to 'pardon'each others french' if you catch my drift and ignore the plethora of wine/champagne glasses in the employee kitchen. I get the feeling when the pressures on and time is down to the wire is when the games stop.

It's amazing that my company as well as other interns seem shortstaffed compared to what we're used to in the states, yet can accomplish the same amount of work. Maybe more if you think abut how much more would be on each individual employees plate. I'm excited to be part of such a tight-knit team and show them what I'm worth, sould be easy considering my high work ethic.

Well until next post....





Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Bring on the Welcome WagonBring on the Welcome Wagon
Bring on the Welcome Wagon

Transport to Rosebery
Electric ArchitectureElectric Architecture
Electric Architecture

right in the kitchen
Go Green!!Go Green!!
Go Green!!

everywhere
Time to find a landmark!!Time to find a landmark!!
Time to find a landmark!!

Sydney Harbour Bridge
Time to find a landmark!!Time to find a landmark!!
Time to find a landmark!!

Sydney Harbour Bridge
Time to find a landmark!!Time to find a landmark!!
Time to find a landmark!!

Sydney Harbour Bridge


Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1065s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb