Last day and looking back...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
September 20th 2007
Published: September 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Awwwww.... it's almost over.... 'cry'

I want to stay, but so far no willing male specimen has shown up to provide me with a visa, so back home it is....

I can only say that Cairns and its surroundings are a great place and more than worth a visit. I've been here for a full month but am far from having seen everything.

I couldn't say what I liked best about this stay, there's just so much I haven't even started to fully take in and so much amazing stuff to chose from...

But after zooing, tattoing, a lot of mooing (from the cows all around, lots of diffrent cows by the way, big ones, small ones, big ears, normal ears, with horns, without horns, brown cows, black cows, white cows, grey cows, spotted cows, baby cows (not for BBQ!!!!!) ...), visiting great places like the Tablelands, the Reef, rhe Rainforest, lots of beaches and waterfalls, getting close to some of Australias amazing animals and spending time with new people, I can only look back in awe about this part of an incredible continent.

I love the laid back, relaxed lifestyle and the warm, welcoming and open minded people here. The Aussie slang is just charming and I'm glad that I could use and improve my English so much... I met soooo many different people both Aussies and from the rest of the world... I gained some new friends I'll definitely stay in contact with and maybe even visit... Switzerland, Poland and Germany, f.e., they're just round the corner...

And there are so many things I'll sorely miss! Swearing in English, Australian TV advertisments (they're so ridiculous), the warm sunny weather, the no-worries-life style, the Woolshed, the sounds of birds everywhere... the feeling that you are in the middle of the tropics even though you're in a city (Cairns isn't called City in a Garden for nothing)!...

I'll miss Alina's and my daily visits to Byblos Cafe for a Falafel and Ginger Beer... I'll miss all the reople from school, funny Tim, Kate, my English teacher and of course my new friends, most of all Alina...

I loved Cairns and I am so coming back one day!!!!!! And then. I'll take more time than a month!!!

See ya back home folks, kisses, Jani

PS> if I'll find a free computer at one of the airports, I'll give you some funny details about Australia...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0242s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1013.2kb