Enjoying Coolangatta.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
June 1st 2019
Published: June 2nd 2019
Edit Blog Post

Old Mates. Ian and I.Old Mates. Ian and I.Old Mates. Ian and I.

I really enjoy markets and what a bonus catching up with Ian and Leone.
Since last weeks blog we have enjoyed good food, wine, company, sightseeing, and such. So nice here with the weather holding its great temperatures and the sun not to hot. Just enjoying being around this wonderful place. A bit of swimming in the pool and walking the beaches. My niece,Louise and her daughter, Lexi arrived from Christchurch to enjoy a break, and so the days became a bit different with a 21 month old doing a great job in entertaining her grandparents and grand aunty and uncle. She really is a cutie.

On the Friday before Louise arrived we drove down to a town where my old friend Ian had his stand doing his farmers market selling. This market is very well known on the coast and is well attended by a huge amount of people. We strolled around enjoying the sights and produce and finally found Ian, inspected his produce and tasted some as well. Macedonian nuts have always been a favourite so when you catch up with a friend who produces them it is a bit of a bonus. I hadn't realised that they could get so many products from this nut. Went off and had coffee and
The Farm House.The Farm House.The Farm House.

Beautiful setting.
pastries with Leone and then I stayed behind with Ian to help? him pack up at the end of the market and meet up with the others at the farm which is just outside Billinudgel. After a lunch sitting outside in these beautiful surroundings, Ian and I took off on his farm wagon while the others followed in the 4 wheel drive for a tour of the farm. They have a lovely place and run some cattle and sheep along with their Macedonia nuts with a few Lamas involved as well. Walked around the production rooms and saw the way things run. Very very interesting day. As it was the weekend, Ian and Leone were going to their apartment, as they do most weekends, which is 25 minutes away at Redcliffs. This is a town on a beautiful beach on the coast. We followed them down and joined them in this beautiful spot for an evening wine and beer. Their apartment is magic, across the road from the beach so I can understand why they escape there for the weekends. A great day.

So, Coolangatta gets a big round of applause from me. I do think that is a
Macedonia Nuts.Macedonia Nuts.Macedonia Nuts.

Harvested and ready to go to get processed.
great place for a holiday for young families or oldies. It just has everything for a beach holiday.

Wednesday 29th, Di and I were up at 4am to catch the flight back to Wellington were I had an appointment in the afternoon with the hospital for an inspection of my hand, which they are pleased with and is progressing well. At home a fast round of washing of the gear I needed to take with me when I returned to Australia, Cairns this time, the next morning, Thursday the 30th. Another 4am start with Di driving me to the airport where I caught the first flight to Auckland, meet up with Warwick and then we took off to Cairns.

A busy couple of days but now for a bit of adventure on the coast up from Cairns. So good!! Pip/Rod


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Nuts Anyone.Nuts Anyone.
Nuts Anyone.

Ready for the next process stage.
Ian and Leones.Ian and Leones.
Ian and Leones.

The entrance to the farm. A wonderful peaceful location.
Out and About.Out and About.
Out and About.

I just managed an easy ride along the beaches without putting much stress on my hand. Coolangatta? Yea! Great!
Oh Wow. Oh Wow.
Oh Wow.

The view from Warwick and my apartment at Trinity Beach outside of Cairns.
At the Market.At the Market.
At the Market.

Charlie Viv and Di enjoy coffee and pastries at the market before finding Ian.


Tot: 0.31s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 23; qc: 92; dbt: 0.1197s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb