Lazy Hazy Days of Winter


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Inn The Tropics
August 31st 2009
Published: August 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post


DAY 296


Oh my have we had a really busy day, we are both thoroughly exhausted!

It is Sunday morning, winter is soon coming to an end and spring is about to hit us with a vengeance, well with the adverts on television all about spring cleaning and those diy chores that had to wait while the winter months took hold, not that we have any of those to do in our current state.

We got up at around 7.30, well Andy was earlier than me, but these late nights are hitting me hard, I think I got up around 8.00, I immediately grabbed my book and a cup of tea and went and sat on the sofa enjoying my peaceful Sunday morning.

Andy was working on the laptop, but after we had breakfast we both retired outside to lounge on the veranda and carry on reading our books, I am close to finishing mine, a Danielle Steel that I started a couple of days ago, a really romantic, tear jerker but an easy read.

What can I say about today? This is a really hard one as we have not done that much at all, yes I lied in the first sentence. I swept the leaves off the veranda and then headed back toward the hammock, I lay in the hammock contemplating, as by then I had finished my book. I was contemplating how lovely it is here and how lucky we are to be enjoying this beautiful environment, and of course not having the stresses of life like work niggling at us, although that is really starting to niggle at Andy because he is not working, he feels desperate in his mind that he should be doing something.

Lets face it, we are nearly at the 12 month point since we both gave up work to embark on this adventure, I am trying to enjoy it for as long as I can as before long we will both be working (we hope) and back on the treadmill along with everyone else.

Andy has again been pottering cleaning the inside of the Patrol and also, “Servicing” the fridge and tidying all the gear that we carry in the truck as it his intention to go away next weekend so we have domestic bliss in the week and some weekend camping to boot!!

When Andy finally sat down on the Veranda he managed to finally finish his book.

I promised that we would do the walk today, so late afternoon Andy and I got our trainers on again and off we went to the top of the road, yet it seems harder today, it is far more humid so we stop a few times on the way up for a slurp of water, again the guard dog chorus joins us as we walk past.

We see other people walking up and walking down on their daily exercise routine, some with Ipods plugged in, on a mission and jog right past with some ease as if they are in the least bit puffed out by this steep climb.

We watch a bit of TV a good programme called Domestic Blitz, they choose a nominated person to completely blitz their home, redecorate and refurnish, last night it was for a family who have lost both their parents, the eldest girl is 20 and gave up her job to look after the rest of the family as they all grow up.

There is nothing much on tv and we don’t really want to become a slave to that box in the corner so we grab a pack of cards and head outside to sit on the veranda in the cool of the evening.

I managed to speak to my mum and dad over Skype which was nice and the call quality was just fantastic.

Weird thing is that as I shuffled the cards some of them shot out of my hand, they landed on the veranda, I looked just in time to see one slip through the tiniest gap in the wood, what are the chances of that happening? So we grabbed a torch and went downstairs to find it, we retrieved it, went back upstairs and carried on playing.

After a short while I really gave Andy a hard game, he had all the cards in his hand when I managed to lay every single on of my cards, so with such a high score he suddenly found himself on a score of 4, just one more game and I completely wiped him out.

It was still fairly early so we came back inside to watch some TV, yes it is a novelty, we find CSI Miami is on which takes our interest (never used to watch this in England) and we enjoyed it so much that we remained glued, so much so that there was another episode to follow, so we stayed up until 11.30 to watch that one too, but my eyes were heavy I almost nodded off watching the second one.

So once CSI was finished it was bedtime, I felt cold tonight so shut the door and left the fan off, sleep came easy once again.

We are very aware that the blog is not very exciting, though a true representation of our day we are finding it hard to just stop and settle for a while and will do our best to get it back on track once we have got all the important chores done, which when the time is right will aide us moving one once again.

At the moment we do not know which way we are going, we think at it would be most appropriate that we travel up to Cape York but need to do sufficient research to ensure that we have at least a months “Weather Window” to get there and back safely.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.599s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 31; qc: 180; dbt: 0.4025s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb