First stop


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
July 2nd 2010
Published: July 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

So, I finally landed in Cairns (on Wednesday morning) after flying from Boston-San Francisco-Auckland-Cairns. The flights were pretty uneventful, even though the San Francisco-Auckland flight was outrageously long. Sarah met me at the airport with her new dog named Sox. Sox is an RSPCA dog that they're fostering until they can find him a home. On a side-note, his name was not given to him by Sarah. She's not that big of a fan of the Red Sox, nor is she lame enough to name a dog after her favorite baseball team. No offense to anyone who has done that. Anyways, Sox is kind of like Beethoven only he's a greyhound mixed with something else. When you take him for walks it's more like him taking you for a walk. The greyhound part really becomes noticeable when you run with him and then try to slow down...not happening. Great dog though.
As far as Cairns goes, it's been great. I'm staying in a house with 6 people. 3 from the US and 3 from England. It's like an international episode of the Real World, only everyone gets along. The town is dominated by backpackers and all the shops seem to cater towards that demographic. I haven't done a whole lot since I've been here besides adjust to the time difference. We've met the local bars though. I'm planning to stay here for another week or two. The Great Barrier Reef is right off the coast and you can see the rainforest from their front porch. I'm going to do trips to both and then head over to the North Island of New Zealand.
That pretty much sums up what I've done up to this point but hopefully I'll have something more interesting to add when I update this again...probably in a few days.

Advertisement



2nd July 2010

Have a Ball!!!
I look forward to following your adventure - thanks for including me. Be careful and have a ball. Tish
2nd July 2010

activities
"I haven't done a whole lot since I've been here besides adjust to the time difference. We've met the local bars though." great sentence. Glad you got there safe, Kinchy! Maybe take a picture of a toilet draining the opposite way for me?
2nd July 2010

How many abo-digitals do you see modeling?
Greetings Kinchla!! Apparently, I missed the part of your itinerary where you will attempt to become a full-blown member of an aboriginal tribe. Also, Million-dollar "$" wanted me to let you know he's got some great time shares available in many of your destinations. Hope you're having a great time so far on the trip...can't wait to see where you're headed next. Safe travels! -Stebby
2nd July 2010

Enjoy!
Hi Dan, So glad that you survived the 24 hour trip. Enjoy your time in Australia with friends. We are looking forward to following your adventures. Our whole gang is on the Cape with us for the 4th. Everyone sends their wishes for a happy fourth of July. Enjoy! Betsy and ED
4th July 2010

Dog Names
I named my dog after my favorite baseball team, jerk.

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb