When Barracuda's attack


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
January 21st 2009
Published: January 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

SunriseSunriseSunrise

sunrise on the boat
I am finally done my work off, so that means I completed 46 days on a dive boat with taking only one day off. Last night I went out to celebrate and had the best sleep in I have had in ages. Now, all I have to do it wait 5 days (5 days off!!) to do my rescue course and then assist with 3 open water classes and do my dive con course and I am done, so that should take me just over a month depending on how fast things move. Since I am now done my work off I will be much more reachable and will not be gone for weeks on end.

Also, I finally have some pictures to post. Since I was not able to buy a underwater camera case I talked to the guy who rents camera's on the boat and took one of his out a couple times, underwater photography is a lot harder then normal photography but I hope you guys like the pics.

The other day I was sent in with a student to help out with a navigation dive, it was at one of our best sites called the
Lots of fishLots of fishLots of fish

This is from a morning dive, the fish are out and hungry!
3 sisters. We were about 20 meters down and finished up our nav portion, so we just continued our dive. About 5 minutes later my buddy looks back and points behind me, about 5 feet away there was a rather big barracuda behind me with its mouth wide open staring right at me (Jon's thoughts: Nice teeth). I do the only thing I could think of and that was lean back and put my fin between the fish and me. The barracuda swims past me, and by swim I mean charges at me (they can swin up to 47km/hr). After cursing in my regulator I turn around and see that the barracuda is again behind me, but now even closer, and once again showing me its nice teeth. I once again put my fin up to block it and perhaps kick it, but it swims past me in a grey flast and is gone. I keep turning around to see if it is around or if any of its friends are close but they are not. My buddy gives me the 'are you ok' sign, and I am, but it was quite scary at the time. The rest of the dive I kept looking behind me to see if it was following me. I have swam beside schools of barracuda and never had a problem, I guess I just looked tasty at the time.

I have other dive stories, but they will have to wait for another time.

Also, in cast you guys have been wondering what the weather is in Cairns, today it 25/30 with a humidity of 80%. It feels nice and hot, but not nearly as hot as it has been. Working on the boat you dont feel the heat as much since you are on the water, so it feels strange to be in such a humid climate when I get back to land. Also, when working on the boat I have gotten quite a nice tan. It isn't as impressive as others, but for being a pasty white boy, its pretty good. And yes I do use sunscreen, so you don't have to say it. Lol

Talk to you guys soon

Jon


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

CoralCoral
Coral

typical scene: A massive formation of coral
who's thatwho's that
who's that

me on the surface
LionfishLionfish
Lionfish

Very pretty


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb