Merry Christmas From Down Under


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
December 26th 2008
Published: December 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So Im not sure if everyone knows this but I have been working on a dive boat on the great barrier reef for the last while. The deal is I have to work off 46 days on either a day boat or an over night boat, and they train me to get my dive master cert. Along with that, I also get free accom when on the over night boat, free food, and free dives. Currently, I have about 30 dives, 5 of which are night dives.


So what does on do on a dive boat? Do look out when people are in the water and fill tanks afterwards. The only problem is I really get any days off unless I ask for them, SO I have currently worked about 22 days straight.

Its not all bad, at times I hate it but it can be fun since I am working on the great barrier reef in Australia. So what have I seen? All types of stuff, but to name a few sting rays, reef sharks (only 1.5 meters long, max), turtles, jelly fish (been stung) and giant clams.

The coolest part I would say is when I swam with a really big turtle, it must have been very old since it was about a meter long. I swam over it and scratched its shell... very cool

So what did Jon get for xmas? A cold. Thats right, the human body can only be worked so hard with out getting sick. So santa brought me a cough with a stuffy nose, which sucks to blow since my nose is sun burnt. Which makes me think that I have never had a sun burn on xmas.

I would have loved to make a few phone calls, but if you cant tell I am rather busy and with the time change its very hard, perhaps when I am back on land and felling better. Its crap, being in australia and having to go to bed at 9 since you are so tired.. last night, I went to bet at 7:30pm.... Merry Christmas to me! lol


Things are well, if I have a chance I will upload some pics but I dont have my mem card right now.. If you want, google Cairns Dive Centre and see if anything comes up, thats the name of my company, not sure if they have a site.

Talk to you soon, miss you all

Jon

Advertisement



26th December 2008

Merry Christmas to you!!!
I hope you are taking advantage of all this diving....I would trade you in a second. You are in some of the best waters for long range viewing...in the world! Miss you big fella! When you get a chance, post some pics. Talk to you soon. Soak it all in.
6th January 2009

Thanks dan, the diving is very cool, its kind of funny that I am doing this because it totally was not part of the plan but I am glad I am doing it. I hope to get some pics up soon
11th January 2009

the website
the website u mentioned: http://www.cairnsdive.com.au/ take care. cheers

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb