The Great Ocean Road And Now In Cairns


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
November 25th 2008
Published: November 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

QualaQualaQuala

So Cute, but apparently they are rather nasty
Since my last update I was hanging out in Melbourne and I was getting a little bored, and everyone I talked to suggested I check out the Great Ocean Road, and since my friend was going as well I figured why not and booked on the same bus as her.

It was a 2 night 3 day trip that went to Adelaide along the Great Ocean Road, to see the 12 Apostles which are rock formations made from lime stone. Since lime stone is weak they eroded from wind and water which leave these rock towers. At one point there were 12 but some have fallen down, so there are now around 9 left.

During this trip we got to see some pretty cool animals. I got to see a Koala bear in the wild, which I thought was pretty neat since I don't think I have seen one before, not even in a zoo. The same day we stopped to eat lunch in a nature reserve and wild Emu came up and stole food out of our hands. These birds were huge, their body went up to the top of my chest, and ostrich are even bigger. Later
ApostleApostleApostle

This is the main reason to do the great ocean road
that day we stopped in a 'hostel' that was in the middle of no where, and there was a large field behind it which was full of Kangeroo, about 100 of them. This was the first time I had seen Kangeroo so I was pretty impressed, and after my Kangeroo watching I went back for a BBQ, which of course included.. you guessed it.. Kangeroo. Over here, Kangeroo are actually considered pests and shot by farmers. I also got a chance to see white Kangeroo's in a wild life park, which is really the only place in Oz that they have these animals. They are not albino, just white.

On our last day we went for a 'hike' which turned to be a mountain climb up a pretty big mountain. It wasnt a climb with ropes and such, but it was hard enough since I didn't have proper shoes and clothing on. We had to climb some pretty big rocks and go through some tight spaces but we all made it, even though one guy was diabetic and didn't tell anyone, and of course his blood sugar dropped so me and a couple guys had to help him down
White KangerooWhite KangerooWhite Kangeroo

Not albino, just white
the mountain, which was a task in its self.

The next day we arrived in Adelaide and it was COLD. Up to this point most of my trip has been cold, with only a few nice days in Sydney. I was starting to get worried if I would ever get some heat. After a short stay of two nights in Adelaide I flew to Cairns, which is at the very top of Australia on the east cost. Cains is a pretty small city which is full of backpackers, it reminds me of Queenstown in New Zealand, accept it is boiling hot.

It has been a shock to my body, going from 15 degree weather where I have to have a sweater on to now 35 degrees with humidity around 100%.

There is very little wind, and when there is some it almost makes things warmer. Even doing the smallest thing makes me soaked in sweat, ie breathing.

I suppose I cant complain since I know people have snow back home, and I am loving the weather, but I dont enjoy being wet all the time, especially since I am starting to get another heat rash.
Thumbs upThumbs upThumbs up

Yeah, not even at the top

Tomorrow I will be starting my open water scuba diving class. After my intro dive in Fiji I figured that I should take the course here and get to see the reef while learning, I have also booked a few extra dives so I will be doing 4 dives to learn the skills and another 5 dives to actually check out the reef, I think this will be one of the highlights of my Australia portion of this trip.

Perhaps I will buy some underwater pictures and post them, not sure if I can yet though.






Advertisement



Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb