Sky Diving


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
January 15th 2008
Published: March 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

SKY DIVING!!!!!!!!

I can't believe we did it! I have been wanting to do this for a long time but when Missy rang from Cairns whilst I was at a work do, I freaked! We had been in the beer garden all afternoon so i'm blaming the booze, but I was running round like a headless chicken..shouting "I'M ACTUALLY DOING A SKYDIVE!AHHHHHH!"

Although it was on our list I didn't think the others would be up for it...Missy just went ahead and booked it! There was no turning back.

Our instruction and safety training consisted of
1) Step into this harness
2) When we jump out of the plane throw your head back, cross your arms then open them like a bird
3) Lets go!

Missy and Amanda went up first as Alysha and I waited nervously on the ground. After they touched down, a little windswept and shaken, with no words, we were whisked away.

All the way up I was staring out of the window...the view was gorgeous, the mountains, jungle, reef, rivers, fields and fields of crops...getting more and more nervous.

Alysha was hilarious, she was properly freaking out...nearly in tears, nervous laughter and some crazy "Whhhhooo!" screams and swearing later she was being pulled toward the open door of the little plane. She screamed so loud even before her feet were outside! Ha! Her video is the best! Unfortunately the videos were saved as dvds, which I am unable to upload :-(

Alysha: But it didnt help that everyone was just laughing and teasing me.....saying my straps were loose and that one of the buckles were broken! kind of didnt make me feel any safer did it....no wonder i nearly cried! lol!

The feeling of the freefall was unbeleiveable. I thought the world would come rushing towards me, but you are that high up that you can see forever. I loved the rush but when the parachute opened and i felt the hit of adrenalin i was nearly sick. I was silent...we gliged down, I took over the controls and we spun around looking at the ocean and the distant mountains...It lasted much longer than i thought for, it was very relaxing and calming being up so high, on top of the world!

It was definately the hightlight of the trip!


Additional photos below
Photos: 99, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0609s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb